We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local food and lots of it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Kitchen & Bar

Spice Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Spice Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 1,801 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
263 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Local food and lots of it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I went here after finding an apartment in Cleveland this week. The food was really good. We got the cornbread and chickpea fries for apps and they were delicious. The cornbread is served with some sort of rosemary bacon butter which I didn't eat because I'm not a bacon person. I got the Bibb salad and the potato stuffed ravioli and spinach puree, both cooked well and in season. A friend of mine and my mom ordered off the restaurant week menu and weren't disappointed. The apple cobbler is amazing and the ice cream with it is home made! Definitely a restaurant to go back to, but it is a little bit pricey.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local ingredients, gourmet cuisine, neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of our experience at Spice Kitchen + Bar. The seasonal menu was loaded with fresh, local ingredients in creative preparations. Our meals were sensational and our service was excellent. I went in with high expectations based on what I had heard and read and Spice exceeded them. We can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank DA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spice is nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice quiet environment, good food and service at a decent price. We had the walleye chowder, broiled walleye, roast chicken, and pulled pork. Everyone enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Itchy-Ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
280 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Delicious food (mostly); great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Dinner with 4 people & three of the entrees were great. We started with the Polenta Chick Pea Fries which were different & delicious. Heirloom salad is big enough to share (though not overly generous). We tried two of the specials - a fish entree & a duck entree and both were creative & delicious. The fish entree did not see very big but the duck was well portioned and came with braised cabbage & pureed squash (amazing!) The fourth person got the cheese ravioli and was disappointed - not a generous portion & fairly bland. Everything is a la carte

Service was excellent; it is a pleasure to have servers who have been well-trained - including the replacement of silverware between courses.

The only negatives: there is no bread available except for the zucchini bread that is sold as an appetizer. Given the prices ($27 for specials and $15 for the ravioli), it seems that they could afford some good bread to be served with salads and as a side. Also, I think mason jars used as water glasses is a bit too country for this otherwise upscale restaurant.

Handicap access may be a problem: there is a large step at the front door. I do not know how a person in a wheelcahir or with limited mobility would handle this.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
373 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“drinks and apps were really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This restaurant is located in the Battery Park neighborhood in Cleveland. Space formerly occupied by Crazy Macs. It is beautful inside, polished wood floors, high ceilings, nice bar room, lots of candles and big windows.

The bartender (Magda) was friendly and great at recommending brews and apps. Our favorites were Punkin beer and the polenta fries. This is a cool urban place in an up and coming area (across the street from Happy Dog) and a seasonal menu.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank likethewind27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Spice Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing