We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, quality tea, recession era portions, mediocre food .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Necklace Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Visited the tea room for lunch. The tea was top rate. However, the 84 dollar bill for finger sandwiches and quiche remnants for 2 adults and 2 very small children can hardly be justified. The only thing extraordinary about the food was the exceptionally small portion size. They advertise being open for "lunch" daily, but it's more like a snack with your tea followed by a stickup. The small portions are no doubt intended to leave room to help you swallow the final tab. The sticker shock of the final bill might have been alleviated by a warmer welcome upon our arrival, but perhaps the cool reception was infuenced by the recent cold weather. The Victorian decor is a bit overdone and the furniture is built to 18th century anthropometric standards (that is to say it is uncomfortably small - but if you eat like that every day you will soon fit).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wparker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2008

I believe a good B&B should offer a relaxing, pampered, and charming experience, but our stay ended up being an ordeal and sadly disappointing.
First, I booked three months in advance by credit card to insure I would have a king bed room with a desk, as my husband had to work from his computer during the day. Be warned that their policy is no refunds! Not even three months in advance. The mistake I made was when I called back to see if we could shorten our stay from 4 to 3 days. I was told that someone would have to call me back and no one ever did. Realizing I would probably not get an adjustment, I decided we would just stay the 4 days. Upon arrival, the door was locked with no one around. I called the owner, and was told they canceled my reservation! I showed her the letter she had sent me confirming my stay, so she showed me the rooms she had left, of course small and no desk. Be warned that all three rooms are on the second floor and you have to haul up your own luggage!
After dragging two large suitcase up steep steps myself, I found there was barely enough space in the room for open suitcases. There was no closet for hanging clothes. What should have been a closet was a half bath with no shower and no counter or shelf space for toiletries. The cramped room had a queen bed, one nightstand, a love seat, and a small round table we used as a desk. There was not an empty electric outlet for plugging in our computer. We had to unplug the 12" TV. The large tub had a faucet and shower handle that leaked profusely, so my husband asked for a wrench, got some plumbing tape, and fixed it as best he could. The sink did not drain, so my husband also bought some drain cleaner to unclog it.
Since I enjoy a good cup of tea, I had sent her a bag of Lady Londonderry as a gift with a card saying I looked forward to sharing a pot with her. When I asked her if she received it, she said she had, but didn't know who it was from. Needless to say, we never shared a pot. They did prepare a pot one morning, but they do not strain the tea, which became bitter after seeping too long.
The breakfasts were consistently mediocre and took way too long. Ironically, they ask what time you want breakfast, but do not begin to prepare until you arrive. Plus, they claim to be a tea room, yet did not know how to properly prepare a pot of tea.
As a seasoned traveler, who has enjoyed many fine B&B experiences, I was very dissatisfied with the Emerald Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank sticktogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The inn is lovely. It was immpecably clean and the breakfast was delicious. The rooms are all tastefully decorated. The innkeeper is friendly and was a delite to talk to.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

The facilty was dirty and the food was old tasting. The owner was difficult to speak to and unable to understand simple requests. Very overpriced and the other people staying at the same time were paying much less. More of a hobby than a business.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank whatever123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2005

This gem, located in a suburb of Cleveland, is a real find. My boyfriend surprised me to a midweek stay - Our room, the Gilles Suite, was decorated with a huge sleigh bed, two-person tub, plus little touches such as bubble bath, matching robes, romantic CDs, and slices of decadent chocolate cake. We awoke to a tray of delicious home baked banana bread, fresh fruit, and juice. We would have been treated to a breakfast downstairs - but had to go to work. Downstairs is a tea room, and there is a beautiful garden outside. I highly recommend this bed & Breakfast.

13  Thank Travelgnomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, Maryland
117
Reviewed September 11, 2002

This was a great Inn; we stayed here for three nights in one of their wonderful suites. It was very nice we had a great deck of the back of our beautiful room, that over looked the Valley. We also had some spectacular food in the Tea Room and my wife even got her hair done in the adjacent salon. It was also very convenient to airport as well. I will stay here every time I am in Cleveland.

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank FamBibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
11.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Cleveland Airport North
12.1 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#9 of 38 in Cleveland
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#17 of 38 in Cleveland
666 reviews
7.8 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Necklace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Necklace Inn

Address: 18840 Lorain Rd, Cleveland, OH 44126-1912
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range: $145 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald Necklace Inn & Tea Room is one of Cleveland's historic treasures. It was built in 1863 during the Civil War and was operated by the Gilles family of Fairview Park as the first County General Store in the area. The current Innkeeper, Gloria Cipri-Kemer, is the owner and proprietor and enjoys continually enhancing the Inn's Victorian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Necklace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Necklace Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing