We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Willy’s Wheeler ”

Western Reserve Historical Society
Ranked #30 of 152 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here while visiting CWRU with our teenage son and delighted that we did. Our favorite exhibit was the classic car display of more than 30 rare automobiles, airplanes, motorcycles and even campers like the one featured on an episode of I Love Lucy. My favorite classic was the Willy’s Wheeler. Aside from the car collection, the carousel and mansion exhibits, which are impeccably maintained, take the visitor back in time to the great industrial time period in Cleveland with its grandeur and attention to finery and detail. The staff was super friendly and knowledgeable too.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Fabkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"euclid beach carousel"
in 12 reviews
"old cars"
in 11 reviews
"crawford auto aviation museum"
in 8 reviews
"stainless steel"
in 6 reviews
"wahoo"
in 6 reviews
"car lovers"
in 4 reviews
"historic carousel"
in 2 reviews
"genealogy research"
in 2 reviews
"bob hope exhibit"
in 2 reviews
"carousel ride"
in 2 reviews
"cleveland area"
in 6 reviews
"on display"
in 6 reviews
"rainy day"
in 3 reviews
"small museum"
in 2 reviews
"great collection"
in 3 reviews
"lots of history"
in 2 reviews
"university circle"
in 3 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 118 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2018

This is a great place especially for those of us that grew up in Cleveland. There is a great amount of local history and tradition in these walls. It may be the last place we will be able to see Chief Wahoo.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank MikeyBoy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEHistoryCenter, Public Relations Manager at Western Reserve Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review and let us and others know about your experience here at Cleveland History Center. We're pleased to hear you enjoy our institution, and hope you will be in to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2018

This museum is surprisingly good for its size. The carousel is fun, the airplanes and cars are fascinating, there's always an exhibit worth seeing and the Hay-McKinney mansion is filled with fascinating rooms. Definitely worth an afternoon.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank mom44003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEHistoryCenter, Public Relations Manager at Western Reserve Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

We appreciate you taking a moment to share with us and others details about your visit. We are especially pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and that you liked the carousel, pieces of our Crawford Collection and the Hay-McKinney mansion. Please come back in and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Visited with grands. In addition the the many interesting historical artifacts, there is a wonderful carousel suitable for 3+ year olds.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank jgieske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This is one of the places we love to go and visit often. They just have some nice displays and the children like it also.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Reserve Historical Society also viewed

 

Been to Western Reserve Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing