We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really worth the price”

Western Reserve Historical Society
Ranked #30 of 183 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Meadville, PA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not really worth the price”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a fine museum to spend a little bit of time in, but $10 is WAY too much for what you get. The classic cars were nice and they have screens set up running little movies about various aspects of the auto industry. The Dior costume collection was nice as well, but again not a lot there. The "model train" was absurd. I have a better setup under my Christmas tree every year. Half of the exhibits seemed to be closed. The mansion tours were over by the time we got there so we didn't get to see that. Overall, I would not recommend this. However, they seem to have a good library for research.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank julibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
357 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not only is this an interesting and entertaining museum, it is housed in a lovely historic mansion. So glad that the structure is preserved, as well as the artifacts.

Helpful?
Thank JrnyJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, VA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting collection of vintage autors”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The brochure on transportation is what caught our eye and made us visit. My wife is crazy about vintage cars. Most of these were from the very early years and I didn't even recognize the names. There were a few planes also. Society had a good collection of maps, but the model train display was very disappointing. Nice collection of carousel horses also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank truck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been here more than once and find it a good value and interesting. Younger children may like to go on days when they offer special entertainment or events. Close to the art museum and botanical gardens.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kmfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great library for genealogists”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful place to research fro Genealogists. If you have New England ancestors this is a good place to locate those hard to find books.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tireman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Western Reserve Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing