We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great addition!”

Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland
Ranked #73 of 182 things to do in Cleveland
Attraction details
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great addition!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

An interesting looking building and a great addition to the area. Cleveland is fortunate to have the cultural choices that we do and we're always glad to have an excuse or opportunity to visit them. This is no exception...unusual and interesting contemporary art to be seen.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank skm4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    10
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth them money”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Of all the museum in Cleveland, this should be your last. I'll admit, I am not the biggest contemporary art fan but there are plenty of free museums that are great to see in Cleveland. This building has difficult parking, boring exhibits, and takes a whole 20 minutes to walk through. I spent more time walking around trying to figure where they hid the other exhibits. I guess if you have seen the other museums, are really bored, or are into terrible art then this would be a good fit for you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank clarkusc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small but impressive!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This well-designed building is worth a visit if you like contemporary art. The exhibits are only on two floors, but we really loved seeing works from new artists. The gift shop has very unique items I've not seen in any other recent art museums, also.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PittTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Awesome new building, not that many exhibits yet.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The new building is located on Euclid ave close to the Cleveland Museum of Art and the Cleveland Botanical Gardens. It is very impressive and I couldn't wait to visit when it opened in Oct. Although the exhibits they have are interesting and the staff was very welcoming, I couldn't help feeling a little disappointed. There are 3 or 4 floors to visit but the ground floor is only an open reception area with a snack cart and a gift shop. One of the floors above is classrooms/office space so there were only 2 other areas that actually contained art.

Thankfully we were able to visit on the first saturday of the month when admission was free. I don't know how I would feel about paying $8 per person to get in when there is not that much to see yet. When you also take into account that you pay to park, it would be better to wait for a day that has free admission.

We were able to park across the street in a lot that charged .50 per half hour. Even with browsing in the gift shop, we didn't even spend a whole hour here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LaBanane926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice building, disappointing exhibits”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Didn't even need an hour to see the few exhibits. And those were disappointing. One was a movie of a man kicking a can in NYC. Another was several mini-blinds in a geometrical arrangement. Maybe it was because it was so new. Nice staff. But $8 fee was too much.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mailbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing