We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere but food lacked quite a bit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of P.J. McIntyre's

P.J. McIntyre's
Ranked #175 of 1,835 Restaurants in Cleveland
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere but food lacked quite a bit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I went here for the first time with my friends for some drinks and food. The drinks were obviously fine and the $2 margarita night is on point but the food well it wasn't that great. We had the beer cheese bread which was cheesy bread with red pepper on top in which nothing came close to tasting like what it says it was to be. Then the lobster bisque was basically broth maybe 1 or two pieces of lobster in a whole bowl. On the entree I got the hamburger gravy over mashed potatoes but when it came it was links over mashed potatoes. I got that as my entree because I felt I should get something Irish at a Irish establishment. That also was not very good. All in all I recommend this place if you are going out to drink but for food go check out another restaurant on the street. There are plenty of other places to choose from.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga County, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food with Unusual Appetizers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I had an informal dinner at P.J. MacIntyre's with four other relatives. The food was very good, and we found a number of unusual items on the appetizer list, such as beer cheese bread, and soft pretzels, and also at least one "heart healthy" item, their grilled chicken Caesar salad. The service was excellent. The interior is interesting, with a large mural of the Irish countryside and a huge stone fireplace. Our only complaint was that the noise level was very high, but, after all, this was a pub.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank highcountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
554 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“TASTY FOOD FOR THE VALUE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you like to drink some beer, arrive before 7:00 for $2 specials on 3 different kinds of beer. We arrived only a couple minutes before 7:00, and the waitress hustled, so we could a couple cheap beers before ordering our meal. I had the Irish Boxty with corned beef, sauerkraut and swiss cheese. They really piled the corned beef on it. I could only eat half of it for $9.99. Hubby had the Shepherds Pie. It was made with hamburger, but was quite greasy. Very tasty, but greasy. We also ordered a bowl of New England clam chowder. Boy, was that ever tasty! They were quite busy, but Jessica, our waitress, was hustling to meet the needs of all her customers. Definitely would return here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish atmosphere, authentic food and friendly feel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Kamms Corner is a well-know Cleveland neighborhood in what was the heart of Irish-American residents and home to many Irish Cleveland Police and Fire Fighters who lived here on the west side of Cleveland because of residency requirements. P. J. McIntyres fits perfectly here, on the corner of Lorain Rd. and Rocky River Dr. It's owners have gone far and wide to gather relics and souvenirs of Irish heritage. The large bar and dark oak woods perfectly match the inside of Ireland' finest pubs. The bar and wait staff are friendly as can be and the food comes out hot and delicious. It is quite a neighborhood feel without exorbitant prices. There is plenty of seating and I have been to a birthday bash in their large basement party room, which gives them extra space for special parties. Always a comfortable experience, P.J. McIntyres ranks as one of my favorite Cleveland hangouts.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garrymoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A nice slice of Ireland in Cleveland, and at a reasonable price too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This pub has a nice friendly atmosphere and puts you in touch with one of the large demographic portions of Cleveland, the Irish. There is a wide variety of food available here and the price is very reasonable. I had the Saturday night special, a Filet Mignon for only $9.99 and it was very nice. They have nightly specials and a regular menu if you're not tempted by the specials.

I was impressed by the old style of the building and the feeling of sitting inside enjoying a very reasonably priced beer at the bar. The staff were super friendly too.

If you're looking for a nice clean place to go to wanting to mix with locals and be somewhere a little different, this is a great place to go to.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keithsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.J. McIntyre's also viewed

 

Been to P.J. McIntyre's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing