We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Progressive Field and a friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was so close to Progressive Field. They gave us a package that included 2 bags of peanuts, free parking, and free breakfast. The room was nice. The night we didn't go to the game, we had a great view of the ballpark's fireworks from our floor. The best thing about this hotel was the friendly staff. DeeDee, the front desk supervisor, was extremely nice and helpful when checking us in. They also have a free shuttle to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and will drop you off or pick you up anywhere within a 1-mile radius to the hotel. The shuttle drivers and wait staff at breakfast were also extremely nice. It was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enystedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Glad you enjoyed our 50 Bases to the Bases package. Also thank you for the kind feedback in regard to our one and only Dee Dee. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

An excellent location less than a block to Progressive Park to watch the Cleveland Indians...we watched Cleveland comeback from 5-0 to beat Minnesota 6-5! Otherwise, not much of anything in vicinity except a couple restaurants across the street (Subway and Italian) and a Starbucks within 1-2 blocks. This Hilton has a cheery staff that was infectious from front desk to the late night restaurant. The lobby area is spacious with sitting areas, fireplace and complimentary lemon water dispenser. The room (228) is spacious, and bathroom even more so, although surprisingly smaller tub and sink, and door opens awkwardly outwards towards front door and closet. Bonus was free wifi but missing an in-room safe for valuables. The pool and exercise room were big disappointments, as there is a tiny, poorly ventilated, closed-door room with 3 exercise machines, one weight station and a stretching mat. The pool room was overly humid with a small L-shaped pool and musty looking water...seemingly not appealing for several families who viewed but none returned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience overall. We do realize that our work out facility may seem small compared to others but we still wanted to offer some workout amenities vs. none at all. As you stated in your review, we make up for it with our spacious guestrooms and lobby area. Also thank you for the excellent feedback on our staff members. They certainly enjoy what they do and our guests. Take care and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

location to stadium is great, but the pool is small and gross as well as the scum floating in the hot tub. The workout room has nothing of interest why even have it? Do your own maintenance if you want the toilet to work properly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Our sincere apologizes for the less than satisfactory condition you encountered with our pool area. As you can tell from our other reviews this is in no way the norm for our facility. But I would like to thank you for pointing these items out to us. Please know it has been discussed not only with our maintenance team but our outside vendor that monitors our pool. Once again, our apologizes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great hotel. Service was great (especially considering all the questions from our large group), and the breakfast buffet and made to order items were excellent. Rooms were large, modern, clean, and well maintained. Location is good - across from Progressive Field, but nothing else in the immediate area. The rest of downtown is a very short walk away. Small pool but still nice.

Parking price charged by the hotel (for the lot behind it) is crazy high given the area.

Had a minor billing issue, and was impressed at the quick and efficient resolution.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is a very good choice for a baseball weekend (or overnight) while in Cleveland, as it is in easy walking distance of Progressive Field.

The hotel is a bit away from most other key landmarks in downtown Cleveland, although the hotel does appear to run a regular shuttle service to various downtown locations.

I found our room our to be clean and comfortable, with everything in good working order. Our room faced Carnegie Avenue, and we did not notice any street noise, or any postgame noise after the Indians game.

The parking lot entry and exit gates were propped open whenever we passed by during the entirety of our stay. We were correctly charged for parking, but the written instructions on the entry sign were at odds with the actual experience. Doesn't make for the best first impression.

We arrived early on a busy Saturday, three hours before the official check-in time, and we were not able to get to our room before the 3 pm check in time. I understand the outcome on a weekend morning. My wife left me at the hotel while she ran errands nearby. I was appreciative that as a Diamond level member of Hilton Honors, I was allowed to use the lobby wi-fi at no charge while I waited. I did find the lobby to be a noisy spot - and found that again the next day. This appears to be partly guest behavior and partly design based, but I would guess on a winter Tuesday, it's a bit quieter. The temperature on this July weekend was extremely unseasonably cool, and the lobby temperature maybe could have been a few degrees warmer.

We met friends elsewhere for breakfast, so cannot comment on the breakfast experience at the hotel, other than to say that there appeared to be plenty of room to handle the peak times.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chose this hotel based on all the positive ratings on Trip Advisor and the affordable price...
From the moment we walked through the door to check in, the staff were fantastic. Check in was smooth, parking was nice and close, and the hotel was very clean.
Our room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed and bedding/pillows. We were right across from the elevator, so it was a little noisy at times, but tolerable. We did not have a view at all, but that wasn't important for us. The water pressure and temperature in the bathroom were great, and there was no shortage of towels.
We didn't use the pool but it looked nice.
We ate dinner in the restaurant downstairs, and were very surprised at the affordable prices both for the food and beverages (most hotel restaurants jack the prices, and offer poor service and food). The service was excellent, as were the food and portions.
The 24 hour pantry was a bonus, and affordable.
The staff were so helpful-they called around for us to find a pharmacy that was still open at night, printed out directions to a few local places we needed to go, and always had a smile on their faces.
The complimentary shuttle service was another pleasant surprise (it was not advertised well so we didn't even know they even offered it)...our driver was a wealth of knowledge regarding local history and architecture, and was very nice.
Check out was painless, and they allowed us to leave our car in the lot after check out while we checked out some tourist spots.
A hidden gem; as we were not familiar with the city, we were nervous at first because the neighbourhood seemed a little run down as it's not in the centre of downtown...not the case as soon as you step inside this wonderful hotel. We have nothing but good things to say about this hotel, and will definitely stay there again if we visit Cleveland in the future.
Dee Dee at the front desk, Vanessa in the restaurant, and Jan, the shuttle driver-kudos to you on excellent service!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lish66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I just wanted to take a minute to express my very positive stay at this hotel. Very accommodating! And Dee Dee at the front desk couldn't have been anymore pleasant or genuinely concerned about our stay being the best it could. Lovely lady! Sincerely- Tony and Stephie Fronk Whitehouse, Ohio

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
0.7 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.9 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $100 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing