We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Room, Great Location, Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Room, Great Location, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel is one I will be definitely returning to next time I'm in Cleveland. This was my first trip to Cleveland and I didn't know how close this hotel would be to restaurants, etc... Location was very important to me because I was there to explore the city. It was a very close walk (only a few blocks) to downtown. I was easily able to do it even in stilettos. I am a very sensitive sleeper but being on the 9th floor I couldn't hear any noise from the street below. I don't know if it's just because I was there over Labor Day weekend, but the street was very very very quiet. I also had a great view of the city and stadium. Because of flight complications it was necessary for me to do an unexpected early check in (10am), and much to my delight there was no problem as the room was completely ready when I showed up. The front desk was very nice and helpful. The room was very nice (especially the duvet) and the free internet was a great perk (almost making up for the parking fee). But, I think the parking fee is something quite typical in downtown hotels. Look around and you'll likely find a great deal for this hotel. Great hotel choice if you are coming to explore Cleveland.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor (9th was great) facing the stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coratraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    458
    178
    57
    23
See reviews for
380
349
60
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed there during the Labor Day holiday. Great location, close to Progressive Field, restaurants and bars. The staff were extremely friend and very helpful with anything that we inquired about. Nice pool and spa. The only downside is that the parking $16.00 seems somewhat.. $10.00 would be more than enough. The rooms are very nice. They include a microwave, small refrigerator and flat panel TV. Would stay there again...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoso1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

The hotel is located on the far side of the baseball stadium - so while it is Downtown it is quite a walk to any other downtown location. The hotel is modern and clean - and the staff are pretty friendly. Get a City view room - it a great view of the City and the highway traffic is noticeable - but not horrible. I got a great rate on Hotwire - but was burned by the $16 a day parking charge. It bugged me each time I used my car - I hate feeling cheated so it detracted from what really is a decent hotel. Not really much choice as the nearby lots don't look like they would be safe for (or permit?) overnight parking.

Room Tip: Go for a City Side Room.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank localguy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

I was in Cleveland for a music concert at the nearby State Theater and some sightseeing. I arrived around noon and they had a room ready for me. The front desk lady was very personable and helpful. This hotel is within easy walking distance of the waterfront and other attractions, including the baseball and football stadiums. The breakfast is extra and that's not really clear on the website. It was good though, as was the service.

While I was very happy with the hotel and Cleveland does have its charms, it's probably safer to take a cab late at night. And, as a true blue Rock and Roll fan, the museum is something you should thoroughly research before plunking down your 22 dollars. I went at the urging of a friend. It was overpriced by at least 18 bucks. Clothes, album covers and covers of The Rolling Stone. They had 2 or 3 interesting displays of musical equipment and radios and Janis Joplin's hideous Porsche 956.

The State Theatre was impressive, but they comped a lot of tickets for the show and half the audience was drunk.

If you do need to stay in Cleveland, the hotel is recommended.

Room Tip: Skip the Rock and Roll Museum. A desperate money grab with little to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffy_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archbold Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here for one night and were very pleased with the Hotel. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. The breakfast was good and the hotel was very clean and comfortable. We would stay there again. For the price it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel is close to the ballpark, but a bit of a jaunt to the business district or dining. Rooms are average. The staff is helpful, and the breakfast amenities and staff are first-rate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarmaKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stopped here for an overnight rest about halfway through our drive. I found a good deal on hotwire which did not mention the $16 additional parking fee. Many reviews advertised free breakfast included(which was not included), hence we passed on the $12/person continental breakfast. We happened to stay during a baseball game night, and we were surprised that NOTHING near the stadium/hotel was open during the game. We ended up ordering a pizza to our room and going to bed early. Hotel was ok and clean, but too much money for a stay with nothing to do in the area! Probably great if you went to the game but not for others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jenn28msu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.7 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing