We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed”

Pura Vida by Brandt
Ranked #103 of 1,854 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ontario
Transit: Euclid Coridor located across the street.
Description: Pura Vida by Brandt is a scratch made, locally sourced restaurant in the heart of Public Square. We offer lunch, dinner and take out. We feature local meats, fresh seafood as well as vegan/vegetarian options. We are exceptional in handling any allergy or dietary needs.
Kissimmee
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have visited Pura Vida about 5 times and have enjoyed each meal. My husband would live off the African peanut soup. I tried lamb for the first time when our group shared the lamb sliders and they were amazing. At happy hour, the burgers are $5 and Coor's draft is $2.50. We had veggie burgers that were served on a buttered brioche roll with pimento cheese and not a crumb was left. My favorite drink is the lavender gin fizz, although it is a bit pricey.
We first tried Pura Vida for the prix fixe Valentine's day menu, which had a vegetarian option. If this is repeated in 2013, go! It was a special night with great service at an excellent value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MeinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    55
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, oh
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“wonderful good, dismal service”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The food was magnificient- the bacon appetizer and African peanut soup literally blew our socks off and the thai martini was so delicious. Everything we ate, for that matter was good. The service started out so strong but soon trickled off to where we would see out waitress, literally every 30 minutes or so. The food service was also unbelievably slow, with a good 45 minute wait for the first course to arrive. Not sure if the waitress just checked out when she realized how slow the kitchen was and decided to cut her losses or what. We skipped dessert because we just couldn't stand any more waiting. It's too bad that they can't seem to get the operational aspects of running a restaurant right because the food is really good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shmoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

There were many items on the menu we needed explained. It was all quite interesting. We had a couple of purists in our group who had the bacon cheeseburger. They did not eat then as described on the menu because they changed the cheese, but both were quite happy with their choice. I had edamame prepared like I have never had it before; it was interesting and quite good. I also had soup and their "Cauliflower Toast," both of which were tasty and like nothing I have ever had before. I would recommend this restaurant because the service was great and the food was different and good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniKritzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great, except for the service.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went Saturday night. We sat out on the patio which initially was empty, but filled up by the time we left. Great for people watching, although at times they seemed a little too close for comfort. Service initially started out excellent, but as the patio filled up, it became evident that there was only one server for all of us and by the time our appetizers were done, we rarely got our server again, which was completely inadequate.

Food and drinks were excellent. Duck nachos, cauliflower and toast and crispy pigs ears were the highlight. Our table had bahn mi, shrimp tacos, veggie burger and korean short ribs were all great.

Overall, a great meal, only complaint was that service was lacking once they got busy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gfai2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Setting but Needs Some Improvements”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had dinner here with my wife on a Saturday night. We arrived around 8:00 PM and were quickly seated as the restaurant was quite empty. The decor was very clean and appealing though the music was a slight distraction as the volume was a little loud and appeared geared to be more a club setting than fine dining. Throughout our meal we heard Jay-Z and various other rap/pop artists you would certainly not hear at Blue Canyon (Chef Brandt's other restaurant). The service was terrible as it took us over 5 mins to be acknowledged by our server and several more minutes before our drink order was taken. Our water glasses went empty while we were eating and we had to ask the manager and food runner for appetizer plates and other needs as our server was nowhere to be found.

The food was good overall - we enjoyed the bbq duck nachos and my wife loved the veggie burger. I ordered the trout, which was brown and dry in places as it had been overcooked. The accompanying slaw was my favorite part of the meal. The prices were reasonable but based on the experience, I understand why the place was so empty on a Saturday night.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida by Brandt also viewed

 

Been to Pura Vida by Brandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing