We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dining pleasure”

Pura Vida by Brandt
Ranked #103 of 1,854 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ontario
Transit: Euclid Coridor located across the street.
Description: Pura Vida by Brandt is a scratch made, locally sourced restaurant in the heart of Public Square. We offer lunch, dinner and take out. We feature local meats, fresh seafood as well as vegan/vegetarian options. We are exceptional in handling any allergy or dietary needs.
Columbus, OH
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A dining pleasure”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Saturday night out on the patio, great service, wonderful food! Best duck confit in the US - almost like being at the Cafe du Marche in Paris! My salad was amazing- a bed of greens with goat cheese, sweet peanut brickle with strawberries with a mustard vinaigrette. So good! Try not to sit by the fence if you don't like people right by your table. Busy area, lots of good people watching. Great service too!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisalycmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    55
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Downtown - Summer in the City”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had recently learned about Pura Vida and were surprised to learn that Pura Vida had been open a year. We dined on a beautiful Saturday night in June when the LA feeling restaurant opened it windows and heart to the city sounds and sights. It was a memorable setting. What followed was a great dining experience with many dining options, tastes and flavors including a warm spinach salad for 2, golden trout, mustard speatzle, spring pea and spinach risotto. We also ordered the Korean BBQ Shortribs which was very disappointing as it seemed we were eating beef jerky. However the rest of the meal was superb and the service was excellent and not rushed. After dinner we walked to the new casino and had a great night. We highly recommend Pura Vida.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TQuayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, OH
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Love this place!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here on a Saturday night and had an awesome experience! My husband and I shared one of the "jar" appetizers, which was four layers of different types of spreads served with toasted bread for spreading - delicious! Both of our entrees were really good - both freshly prepared. Lots of local food items seem to be offered here. Our waitress was very helpful as we had a lot of questions about menu items, and she even surprised us with a sample of an item we hadn't ordered but had been interested in. I really can't think of anything negative about our dinner experience. I will definitely be returning and highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for something different downtown

Helpful?
Thank tribefan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Menu and Service”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We went Pura Vida for my birthday and had a wonderful experience. I highly recommend it and can't wait to return. The menu size is perfect, plenty of selections, not too much, and not too little. They have something for everyone, and even a special vegan section. Portions vary - as they have two sizes of small plates (appetizers), sides, and entrees.

We love trying a variety of foods, so if you are like us, skip the entree and order a bunch of small plates and sides and slides. You'll get plenty of food, and a true food experience. The african peanut stew was delicious with peanuts, kale and potatoes. The duck nachos adds a different twist to your typical nachos. The crab falafel was has an amazing curry twist. The bacon is a must. You'll get strips of seasoned bacon that is salty but yet sweet., along with cheese pimento sauce and crostini. The cauliflower toast was great as well. Another must is a "jar" and the "cheese" selection. The jar comes with grilled bread and a creative spread in a jar. The cheese is served on a wood board along with a fig spread, raisins, apricots and nuts.

The food presentation was simple and creative. The atmosphere was modern, sleek and fun. Our server was very attentive and was very knowledgeable on menu and ingredients. I'm not sure how long this restaurant has been open, but I was surprised I never heard of it before walking by it, while we were in Cleveland for the film festival two weeks ago. Cleveland has a lot of wonderful restaurants, and this one ranks on top of one of my favorites.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AkronTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Totally blown away”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were exploring downtown Cleveland for the first time when it began to rain. We ran to the first restaurant we found to wait out the rain and to grab some lunch. What a wonderful surprise for us to have lucked into such a great restaurant.

The menu was very creative. I had African Peanut Stew and a very delicious bean burger. My wife had a very unique Cobb Salad. She enjoyed it very much.

The drinks were very well made and the dessert we took back to the hotel for our daughter was devoured quickly

Matt, our waiter, was incredibly helpful. When we raved to about our food, he brought out the chef so we could tell him ourselves.

If you are looking a change of pace in downtown Cleveland, make sure you check out Pura Vida.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buccos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida by Brandt also viewed

 

Been to Pura Vida by Brandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing