We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Place Bistro & Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Washington Place Bistro & Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I live in Cleveland, but every once in a while can get away for a night and always stay here, in the Monticiano room. We love the location: lots of nearby restaurants and art galleries within walking distance; great museums within a few minutes drive; the Cedar Lee theater in Cleveland Heights only 15 minutes away. We have always had a great experience, with accommodating staff, comfortable room, and a wonderful brunch.

Regarding some comments previously made: We did have a little trouble regulating the heat on one visit, but it didn't bother us enough to ask the front desk for help. There is some street noise with brick streets, but the Monticiano is a fairly quiet room and we were not bothered by that.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J987654_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a nice place on the inside, but there are somethings people need to be aware of before staying here.

Pros:

-Free wifi
-free breakfast monday-friday
-preferred parking
-good price
-best shower I have ever taken
-staff was friendly, but not overly friendly
-great coffee maker
-walking distance to lots of restaurants and pizza place
great restaurant downstairs

Cons:

-Not in the best area (if you are going out, you will most likely travel though rough part of town)
-constant street noise. The road is brick, so you hear every car passing by
-no refrigerator
-no ice machine (there was no way to get or store ice)
-Could hear people in room next to us at times
-bar and restaurant close early
-no elevator, rooms are at least 1 flight of stair up, maybe 2 if you are one upper level

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Love everything about this place. Enjoying the area and people. Would love to brings husband back to this B and B for a visit. Everybody we came into contact with from the parking guys to the front desk people were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Every aspect of Washington Place was terrific, from value for money to dining to the quality of the staff. My wife and I stayed two nights in midweek and ate two breakfasts and a lunch there. The house-made granola atop yoghurt was incredible at breakfast, as was the veggie quiche. I give management plaudits for investing in the employment of attentive, cheerful, energetic staff rather than in guest bathrobes or turn-down service with chocolates on the pillow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chesapeake41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in the Monticiano room. The king size bed was incredibly comfy with down mattress cover and the pillows were plentiful and perfect.

After reading other reviews, I was concerned about the room temperature (we stayed in early March) but our room was toasty warm. Actually, we had the thermostat set down to 66 and it was much warmer than that (but not to our discomfort).

A lot of thought was put into the layout and details of the room. It was spacious and private. It is on the top floor. We could not hear any noise from the restaurant nor did any kitchen smells waft to our room. Road noise was also not an issue. The complimentary waters, cookies and Keurig coffee were appreciated.

My only negative comment regards the bathroom fixtures. The towel bar, toilet paper holder and shower handle were wobbly and felt like they were going to come off the wall.

Breakfast was outstanding. I am appreciative that most brunch items on the menu are included with the room price when you wake there on a Saturday or Sunday. I never heard of monkey bread before but am now a fan. The oxtail pierogi's were fabulous.

Another impressive touch is Inn guests are given prime parking spots in the lot. It was nice to not have to search for a spot or have to pay extra for one.

I wish I wrote down the names of the staff so I could personally thank them. Every single emplyee was pleasant- from the valet's to the people I spoke with on the phone, to the waitstaff, etc.

Room Tip: Monticiano room is lovely. It is spacious, has a king size bed and a very private feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, OH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although the boutique style rooms (only 7 in the inn) are unique and attractive, overall my wife and I did not have the best night's sleep. Regulating the heat/ac was a challenge (but the front desk did respond to our call on this) and the bed was not as comfortable as we would have liked. Having a 'free' brunch certainly helped make up for the downfalls with the room.

I suggest that you stay here for the food, and you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you book well lin advance as the inn fill up rather quickly for weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottWiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our daughter gave us a gift certificate for weekend night & brunch @Washington Place for Christmas. We loved our room! The bedding was wonderful!!! The room & bathroom were sleek, clean & comfy! We had a delicious early dinner at the bar walked up to our room to get our coats to go out....instead we relaxed, enjoyed our room & had a great nights sleep! The brunch the next morning was fabulous! We look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same decor & furniture. We had no trouble with any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish3230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#10 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
#28 of 38 in Cleveland
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Place Bistro & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Place Bistro & Inn

Property: Washington Place Bistro & Inn
Address: 2203 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Place Bistro & Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Place Bistro & Inn is a historical landmark located in the heart of Little Italy. With free door-side parking, free breakfast and free brunch (Saturdays and Sundays) enjoy being close to UH Hospitals, Cleveland Clinic, University Circle and college campuses including Case Western Reserve University and John Carroll University. Our beautiful seven inn rooms have a unique layout looking over Murray Hill or the outdoor patio garden. Inn Room Amenities • WiFi • 40" Flat Screen Televisions • Coffee Machines • IPod-compatable Alarm Radios • In-room Safes • Glass Showers • Hair Dryer/Iron • Work Desk* • Vanity Room* • Seating Areas* *Not available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Washington Place Bistro & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Place Bistro & Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing