We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school ice cream shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Moses

Sweet Moses
Ranked #3 of 49 Dessert in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old school ice cream shop”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Feels like going back in time. Amazing sundaes and shakes.Feels and tastes very authentic.Perfect place to hit after dinner or frankly anytime you want a great dessert and a great experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    43
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old fashioned ice cream parlor in Gordon Square”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you love all things retro, then you will love Sweet Moses. Parking isn't exactly abundant, and not much else was open when we stopped in, but there was a steady stream of customers coming in the whole time we were there. My husband really enjoyed the individual french press coffee. I ordered a Belgian Chocolate with whipped cream, pecans and hot fudge. As good as, if not better than, Malley's ice cream but the portions were more generous. The baked goods are yum, too. I couldn't stop staring at the adorable tchotchkes and vintage equipment. There aren't many places in Cleveland that are this special. Servers were plentiful and attentive, bathroom was clean, so was the marble countertop at the bar. I noticed too that there was a nice mix of customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandBratticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Who would believe...ice cream parlor open in a snow storm!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We just finished an after-theater ice cream treat at Sweet Moses old-fashioned ice cream parlor in Cleveland's Gordon Square neighborhood. Doesn't sound that unusual except that it's December and it's 28 degrees and it's snowing and the line of customers went almost to the door! That's a pretty good indication of the quality of food and service that people will venture out in winter snow for ice cream at 10:30 PM! Highly recommend "mulled cider sorbet" and "orange cranberry sorbet". Of course, there are also sodas, malts, phosphates, sundaes, and a whole case full of candies and confections. What's not to love?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busybabe555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old school all the way”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is a complete throwback and feels like you're stepping into the 1950s, though everything is new and sparkling clean. Milk shakes, brownie sundaes, etc. All delicious. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Clevelandite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a fantastic place. It's most certainly a trip down memory lane. Loved seeing soda jerks and phosphates in 2013! Took my mother there and she loved it, said it reminded her of the soda shops of the 50's. It is clean and they have quality offerings. I tried their seasonal selection today which was the pumpkin pie sundae. The ice cream was so creamy and not overly pumpkin. As noted in my title, Moses is a bit pricey, but with the soda shop theme that they clearly spent a great amount of effort investing in, you are getting an overall experience when you visit there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cabolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Moses also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Moses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing