We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, United States
1 review
“Surprisingly comfortable”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

For an old hotel, this Doubletree is very comfortable. The rooms are clean. No mold in the bathroom. The lounge area is very beautiful with its wood panel walls and the entrance makes me feel like I'm walking into a historical building. The hotel is easy to get to (near the clinic) and in a safe area close to Little Italy. You have to drive down to the bigger area attractions by the water, but worth a safe, clean hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton the Tudor Arms Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and all of its unique amenities, and that you found the hotel’s location convenient. Thank you for your kind words. We will look forward to serving you again, when your next travels bring you to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    334
    159
    74
    45
See reviews for
494
252
95
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay in Cleveland. The hotel has the standard Doubletree level of service and is just right for travel. Large rooms with Art Deco style. The staff is good and make you feel comfortable. I will stay here again when in Cleveland.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank hapeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your excellent experience! Our staff works hard to exceed guest expectations and it is so rewarding to read about your most recent stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a huge special surprise greets one when entering the Tudor Arms Hotel! It's gorgeous from top to bottom -- throughout! This artfully restored historic site housed the exclusive Cleveland Club during a former oppulent era. At the front desk, Jasmine welcomes guests and from that moment forward everything is outstanding! Our room is gorgeous and exceptionally clean! The halls are clean, too -- even the corners. Jasmine is outstanding. Following right behind her are other superb employees who are well-selected and highly trained including some who stopped to offer service and tell us about the hotel ~~ Larry (Maintenance), Freddie (Housekeeping), and others. We find our room restfully quiet with a bed conducive to sleep. When staying here, one must be certain to see the two ballrooms with lovely rooms in-between. Be sure to look UP as well as all-round everywhere, starting with the hotel entrance. When I made the reservation weeks ago, I was told immediately about the parking options and costs. We travel extensively and stay in hotels big and small from the World's fanciest to desperat-stop simple -- I do not rate most in which we stay. I (too) have been a Hilton Honors member for years, We shall return often to Tudor Arms with eager anticipation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EightStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton the Tudor Arms Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and all of its unique amenities, and that you found the hotel’s location convenient. Thank you for your kind words especially about Jasmine, Larry and Freddie. We will look forward to serving you again, when your next travels bring you to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Refurbished Art Deco hotel just a few minutes from the downtown. Classic hotel with spacious rooms. Built as the Cleveland Men's Club and later used as a dorm by Case Western Reserve. I just loved the history. Great breakfast buffet and restaurant. Free Internet. Commuter rail station just a few minutes walk away. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Wow, thank you for sharing your thoughts about our location on Trip advisor! We couldn't agree with you more; we love our location, history and amenities our hotel have to offer. we are in the University circle district area near Cleveland clinic, Case Western University and museums. Thank you for your warm comments. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here Labor Day weekend for a relative's wedding. Valet parking is $19/night - never informed about self-park at $3 less. Was a little perturbed that one of our 2 rooms was not ready until almost 5pm, and we had to be ready for a wedding rehearsal at 5:30. Otherwise staff was great. They gave us a whole bunch of chocolate chip cookies while we were taking pictures getting ready for the wedding. Also, during the reception there was a spill on the dance floor, and one of the staff, Pam, became the instant hit of the party. She not only cleaned up the spill so that no one fell, she even did it while dancing with the guests! She was just great! The guests really appreciated her help, her style, and her smile!
One comment - we had a group rate initially for wedding guests, and when I found a cheaper rate on line, they lowered the group rate, too, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. Your appraisal of our service team is highly appreciated. I will proudly share it with the rest of the team as it is a continuous inspiration to our pursuit of excellence in everything we do. Your patronage is highly valued. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel twice, and unfortunately we probably won't return. It's not because we don't want to. We love Hilton hotels in general and have been Hilton Honors members for many years. In addition, we have a love for restored historic buildings, and this one is a gem. Built in the early 1930's, this Gothic Revival building once housed the swanky, exclusive Cleveland Club, and through the years, many celebrities performed in its gorgeous ballroom. The property fell into disrepair and was beautifully restored. But if you want a good night's sleep, stay somewhere else. This hotel is noisy. You will likely hear doors slamming and loud guests returning from late night partying. During our most recent visit, when we could stand the noise no longer, we called the front desk. The clerk sent a security guard to our floor and things got quieter, but by then, the damage was done. Our good night's sleep was ruined. The loud doors in the middle of the night were an issue in our first stay as well, but we decided to give the Tudor a second chance. A stay at this hotel is not cheap. The nearby Courtyard by Marriott and Glidden House hotels are much quieter and have more accommodating staff members in our opinion, and at the Glidden House, a wonderful buffet breakfast is included in the price of your room. If you stay at the Tudor, you'll be taking your chances.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We take your feedback seriously, and we are sorry we failed to provide the service you should have received. We regret your disappointment and we hope to have the opportunity to make amends.

I will be happy to oversee any future reservations to ensure you have a flawless experience, and I can be reached directly at 216.455.1260 ext 7205

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here this weekend (31st - 2nd) for labor day weekend. The hotel is nice, room is nice, no complaints about anything in the room or the hotel. The staff was friendly and always saying hi.

Here's my complaint: When I checked in, I was given a parking pass to put on my dashboard, which I did. Nothing else was said by the attendant. Upon checking out, she asks if I have a parking receipt (which I didn't), and she promptly printed it out (I had no idea what it was). Turns out, I owe $35 for two days of parking ($16 each day). I'm speechless. I was never told about paying for parking, and I also expected a hotel of this nature to have free parking itself. When I told the attendant that I was never told that we had to pay for parking, she essentially shrugged. Then, she called over another person (the person who checked us in) and she said "Oh, I'm pretty sure I told you when you checked in, but either way it should be on your online receipt.") No. We weren't told, and no, it wasn't. Instead of providing good customer service and saying "It's our fault, we will wipe the parking.", they just stared at me to pay it.

Overall, if I were to ever stay in Ohio again, I wouldn't stay here. I don't appreciate the "scam" feeling, or being lied to, and customer service should have really prevailed here. Extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about our staff and rooms. I am sorry you were dissatisfied with the cost of self parking. I offer my sincere apology for the numerous times we failed to provide the service you should have received. It is always our intention to exceed guests’ expectations. I hope we get a chance to make amends and appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back. Please contact me directly at 216.455-1260 ext 7205
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.8 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#12 of 38 in Cleveland
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
4.0 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
Address: 10660 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44106-3019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton - The Tudor Arms Hotel is conveniently located in the center of Cleveland's East Side Cultural District and offers close proximity to the Cleveland Clinic and University Hospital. Begin each day with our delicious DoubleTree buffet or enjoy lunch or an evening meal at The Canopy Grille Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing