We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Most Perfect Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“The Most Perfect Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was shopping for a wedding venue in Cleveland that showcased its history and grandeur, and I had heard about the recent renovations at the Tudor Arms. My fiance and I dropped in unannounced on a snowy Saturday afternoon, and we were instantly taken with the intracate entryway and woodpanelled (yet modern) lobby. The staff were incredibly accommodating, and invited us to take a look around the second floor, where the two ballrooms could be found.

I cannot describe how taken we became with the place. My then-fiance and I felt like we were transported to another time, another place. The Tudor Ballroom would have made for the perfect mead hall (we still joke that Beowulf could be found there), and the dark wood, stone, balconies, lead paned windows, and incredible stone fireplace were fantastic. The room outside of the Tudor Ballroom - a sitting area with a great fireplace - was gorgeous. Ultimately, the Crystal Ballroom (photographed) took our breath away.

We met with Michelle, the event planner, soon after, and have worked with her for the last 8 months to create the most perfect wedding we could have ever imagined. Michelle is professional, approachable, very knowledgeable, highly organized, and runs a very tight ship. She was able to answer any question, make valuable suggestions, and always followed up promptly. Her staff was cut from the same cloth. There was no stress, no tension, even as we headed down the final stretch and into our wedding day.

The Crystal Ballroom was gorgously laid out, the service was top notch, and our guests just raved about the place the entire night. And the food- it was absolutely fabulous. The appetizers, entrees, and desserts were of the highest quality.

We also had a complimentary wedding suite. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable (in the spirit of the Westin "Heavenly Bed."), and the bathroom was incredibly beautiful and modern. We had a refrigerator and a small kitchen area, a seating area, and a full bedroom. At the end of the night, we returned to our room to find two boxed dinners from the wedding (they were prepared for us for later that evening), drinks, our wedding cake topper (boxed, with instructions for how to freeze it), and votive candles/rose petals. I was truly touched.

The breakfast buffet was also excellent, and the service was good.

All in all, we were thrilled with the Tudor Arms, and can not say enough about how professional and efficient they are. We had the benefit of having our wedding in a newly restored place (in Cleveland's University Circle, no less) where few have been in the last 40 or 50 years, with all of the modern amentities that one would expect from a modern and high-end hotel. Five stars, for sure!

Room Tip: We loved our suite- it had plenty of amentities and space. My parents' non-suite room was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westie1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    321
    147
    69
    41
See reviews for
464
229
90
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Grove, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff was very welcoming. They were quick to respond to our requests and knew exactly what we would need or what would make our stay better. They were quick to inform us of pertinent amenities, without pressuring to use said amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white stone, virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I don't always like to stay in ultra-modern hotels, and this 1931 beauty seemed like a nice option, especially for a Doubletree. Wrong. Even though I am a Hilton Diamond member, they gave us a tiny corner room (and this was not a room we booked using points). Self parking was "sold out" but of course valet was available. It seems you have to book self-parking as much as several weeks in advance, but that is not disclosed anywhere. We had a problem with the lock on our door. We complained politely the first night and were told "this is an old hotel." Well, I said, that may be so, but I still need to get in and out of our room. We managed to get into the room the first night, went down the next morning to a new person at the front desk, who said she would send someone up to fix it, but nobody ever came. We had trouble getting into our room again the second night, but resolved that, with all the lack of attention we had received thus far, complaining on our last night was not going to accomplish anything. There's a lot of history, and the hotel common areas are beautiful. But staying here is another thing - we won't be doing it anymore and we would caution other travelers to beware.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gruppe4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Hilton HHonors Member we sincerely appreciate your business. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We try to always go above and beyond for our guests and I am very sorry to hear that we were unable to do that for you. I want you to know that all of the inconveniences you experienced will be addressed with the proper departments and we hope that we can have the chance to have you as a guest in the future and will be able to exceed your expectations as we always try to do.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here in July 2013 as part of a road trip. The hotel is majestic, with a hardwood floor in the room and a wonderful small bathroom with a walk-in shower. It was wonderfully remodeled with appropriate furnishings and decorations. We ate in the restaurant and the waitress was kind and helpful, and the food was delicious. Our concern with the hotel was the valets and front desk staff. our problems began when we pulled up and the valets put pressure to make a quick decision regarding parking the car and they were not helpful in their explanations of the options. The staff at the front desk was not helpful either. One morning we asked for the shuttle and was told it would be right there, but they didn't call the driver. Consequently we waited and waited until one of the other valets went to check on things. In summary, it is a great hotel in a great location.... Just wish the employees would understand the meaning of service and helpfulness.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Two_from_NC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival, parking is very unclear. There are several lots around, and they look like they are permit parking, pay-to-park, or valet only. We went into the hotel, and apparently they want you to pay $16 for a permit to park yourself in the lot, or pay $19 for valet parking. We did self parking.

The check-in lady seemed okay. Not spectacular but not poor. The staff was very friendly, including the maintenance and housekeeping that we bumped into in the hallways.

The hotel itself is very cool, it used to be an old 1920's recreation building/gentleman's club or something. Check out the ballroom on the 2nd floor!

The room we got was great. The hardwood floors were nice. The room seemed clean and in perfect shape. The only two complaints, other than the parking, was that there was an old, previously written-on comment card on the desk and an old paper towel in the microwave. Otherwise, I liked everything else! A free breakfast might be nice. I enjoyed the nice bathrobe and slippers in the bathroom. Make the welcome cookies peanut-free! (They are manufactured in a plant that processes peanuts.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inoah1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOKLYN
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Tutor has a lot of charm and personality with a wealth of history without the feeling of living in a historic building. The rooms are nicely appointed with modern appeal and the rain shower head was a nice bonus for relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nelson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel staff was great but the reservation line is terrible. I suggest that if you want to know exactally what you are going to get then call the hotel directly instead of the reservation line. That way you can still get the Cleveland Clinic rate (for patient families) and get teh exact type of room you want

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.7 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#9 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
4.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
4.1 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
Address: 10660 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44106-3019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton - The Tudor Arms Hotel is conveniently located in the center of Cleveland's East Side Cultural District and offers close proximity to the Cleveland Clinic and University Hospital. Begin each day with our delicious DoubleTree buffet or enjoy lunch or an evening meal at The Canopy Grille Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing