We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
$117
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$153
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$127
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$234
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,471)
Filter reviews
1,471 results
Traveler rating
790
371
178
82
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
790
371
178
82
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleveland clinichardwood floorsdouble treehistoric hoteluniversity circleshuttle servicecookiesold buildingcase western reserve universityvalet parkingmile radiushotel shuttleart museumfree shuttleseverance hallself parkvalet staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,322 - 1,327 of 1,471 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I chose this hotel based on the mostly positive feedback on Trip Advisor. There must be great variations in rooms. Upon arriving, the room type we reserved was not available (2 bed/non-smoking). Only options were a king room or a 2 bed/SMOKING room. We choose the king with a roll-away. Both room occupants are well over 6 feet tall! A roll-away doesn't cut it. The walls are thin (noise), the room was very small with uncomfortable furniture. And, little was done by management to improve our stay which is disappointing since we are Diamond Level Hilton Honors. I had 3 other visits later in the year at this location. I've cancelled them all. Much better alternatives elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltwins95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

I am terribly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, restored to perfection, in the heart of University Circle, (Cleveland's cultural district) lovely neighborhood. Within walking distance of Cleveland Museum of Art, Wade Oval, Botanical Gardens, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland Clinic, University Hospitals, Historical society, The world renowned Cleveland Orchestra - Severance Hall. A short drive to downtown, Euclid Avenue, etc. ALL IN ALL A GREAT LOCATION.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your pleasant stay with us at Doubletree Tudor Arms. We’re glad you liked our hotel and found it to be in a great location. I’m pleased that we were able to provide a comfortable place for you to rest. Cleveland has many more attractions to offer so I hope you’ll come back for another visit and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'm glad the present owners have elected to preserve a vintage hotel. The architecture is admirable, and the ball room and dining room are beautiful. I did wonder why the decor of the rooms didn't do more to emphasize the history and tradition of the 1930s and 1940s, instead of using modern minimalism: bare floors, granite and chrome furniture. It felt cold, impersonal and inappropriate to the style of the era. Also, in a room with a king-sized bed, two chairs would have been nice, instead of one. One of us had to stand or perch on the bed.
The location was very good; the bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. The staff was outstanding. There were no major disasters or inconveniences. I just had the feeling small corrections would have made it much better.

Room Tip: Try to get higher than the sixth floor; your view might be better than just roofs.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarjorieG859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

“Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The building is a master piece of modern renovation. The building was renovated in 2009 - 2011 to the tune of 22 million dollars. It was once known as The Cleveland Club, and Al Capone had a penthouse on the top floor, including a private pool. Built in the 20's, the Cleveland Club was one of the most exclusive private clubs in the US or world for that matter, at that time.
So the renovations must be seen. The hand milled woodwork is all there, and looked to be mostly original. The staff was perfect. The wedding was a loud event, however the staff never lost their cool, and were very courteous and professional. The rooms are cool, the were not designed as hotel rooms, so each room, can have different layouts.
So here is the but. the place is smack dab in the middle of the bad area of Cleveland. Shaker Heights and Cleveland Heights border the hotel, along with Cleveland proper. The hotel building is next to the Cleveland Clinic, so there are plenty of cops around, and private security. But still. Safety is a huge concern when traveling. One should really see this place once. And to go for a wedding, what a treat! There is nothing in the area but slums. There is free parking immediately behind the hotel, but the staff seems trained to strongly suggest valet. Most staff did not mention free parking at all.
This building in this neighbor hood, talk about a diamond in a turd. Wow. If the location was anything but what it is, this place would be an actual 5 star palace. But its not.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orlandoauction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Tudor Arms Hotel by Doubletree. We’re glad you enjoyed our hotel and found our staff to be friendly. I want to assure you our hotel is in the very safe and secure University Circle neighborhood. Our Hotel is ideally located within minutes of many University Circle area cultural institutions like the world famous Little Italy Neighborhood. Within a 3 minute shuttle ride you can spend an interesting day at Severance Hall, The Cleveland Museum of Art and the Natural History Museum or take a relaxing stroll through the beautiful Cleveland Botanical Gardens. On behalf of all of us at Doubletree by Hilton the Tudor Arms Hotel, we thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here over Easter weekend as it was with a 1/2 mile from our sons apartment. Interesting building and a central location for our needs. Bed was comfortable and the room seemed relatively large.

Did not go to any of the hotels restaurants etc. but the staff was friendly and helpful so I would definitely stay her again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We’re happy to hear from you and receive a wonderful review about your stay with us. I’m glad you liked our comfortable, spacious rooms. We hope you enjoyed your time in Cleveland and we welcome you to come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews