We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Fresh”

Bac Asian American Bistro & Bar
Ranked #165 of 1,843 Restaurants in Cleveland
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Next to water
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fresh”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stopped by for lunch the other day and had a great meal. My friend got the "bento bac" which is basically your choice of 3 or 4 items (price changes) served in a bento box so they are smaller portions. This is nice because you get to sample many items. She got the tom yum soup, green papaya salad, bahn mi and the last item I cannot remember! She liked all of her items, but she thought the bahn mi was a little hard and dry.

I ordered the grilled pork chop. Yummy familiar flavors of other Vietnamese preparations I've had. The rice was plentiful but a tad bit dry but the pork chop made up for it. I would order this again.

I got a bahn mi to go and mine was good, not dry at all. I like the one at Superior Pho a bit better because the bread is better and I didn't care for the mayo looking spread on my veggies. But overall very fresh and tasty.

I've also had the kimchi noodles. Very garlicky and pungent of real kimchi so dabblers of Americanized kimchi should beware. If you like clear glass noodles then this is your dish. You can add any type of protein to this as well.

I will return to try even more dishes!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkcarnationcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Outdoor Dining and Fine Food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Five of us had a late lunch at this small bistro while in Cleveland. The food was very good and the portions were very large (maybe a little too large). The service was very good and outdoor seating was really pleasant. I'd go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankR_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Eh... so so”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Eh... not that great.

Service was so so slow, employees were nice but very slow.

Food was good, certainly not bad, but nothing special, just average Asian cuisine, similar to what you could get at any old take out place.

Seemed sort of dirty and dark, uncomfortable seating. Overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinktush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wasn't quite sure what to expect. Found this restaurant on A Christmas Story House website, it is close by. We were a party of four on a Saturday early evening. Sweet potato fries and edamame for appetizers, both were delicious. Basil fried rice with tofu for dinner was absolutely delicious! I cannot stress this enough. Everyone enjoyed their main dish. Fried ice cream and spicy brownie for dessert fabulous too. Excellent drink menu here too. So impressed with this place. Can't wait to plan another trip back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank everyday_is_a_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“Average food + bad attitudes = my money somewhere else”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our first trip was fairly decent. Very nice selection of beer, wine, and cocktails. The food was freshly prepared, although the level of spice in some of the dishes was unknown to serving staff, leaving my mouth warmer than anticipated. However, the price was fair, and there was a good variety of dishes. The decor was very nice, although for a slow night, the place had an echo that made it easy to hear everyone else's conversation, but left me unable to hear my wife well. All in all, not a bad trip, and we thought we'd give it another chance...

Our second trip to Bac, we were meeting some friends there for a reservation. Again, similar story: decent food, drinks, etc. However, this time the place was nearly completely full. When our friends arrived we had to nearly put our heads together to have any sort of discussion. Our food came out on time, and was good. A bit later in the evening, a good friend of ours stopped by. By this time the place was winding down, but still active in service. And here's where it fell apart on us...

Our table wanted just a 2nd round of drinks (not a 3rd, or 4th). We asked our server if this was possible. She said that would be fine, and let us know that the restaurant was closing at 11pm (it was about 10:20 pm when we asked for one more round), but that "...you can stay as long as you like!" , but that she only needed to cash out so she could leave. "Okay. Fair enough." we all agreed after getting our drinks. Then around 10:50, I ask an employee (as he's putting up chairs all around us) if we should move to the bar, as it seemed they were LITERALLY closing up. He proceeded to very rudely and condescendingly tell me "We're closed. The kitchen's closed. The bar's closed. EVERYTHING IS CLOSED!"....

Not having completed our drinks, stunned, abashed, and confused at the lack of service, we left our drinks on the table, got up and left while the owner hurriedly flips on the lights and shuffles us to the door.

I gave the rating of "Poor" because I think the food was "decent" and the decor was nice. Nothing amazing, but not bad. However, as anyone in the restaurant industry will agree with, a utterly rude and incomprehensible ending to even the very best dining experience has the potential to ruin the whole thing. This is a perfect example of that.

Clearly, we won't be going back. Clearly, they're too busy to get out of there anyhow.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bac Asian American Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bac Asian American Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing