We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing evening but very noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dante

Dante
Reserve with OpenTable
Dante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,822 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Literary
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
489 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Relaxing evening but very noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner on a Friday night. The service was very good. For entrée
I enjoyed the slow cooked short rib with an unusual coleslaw on the side. It was fall apart tender and very flavorful. My wife enjoyed her flounder and the sauce on the side was also very flavorful and not overpowering. We shared a fruit cobbler for dessert which was generous and very tasty. Also, our appetizer of raw oysters was perfectly shucked, not a piece of shell in sight and all of the nectar was still in the shell. Overall a delightful evening but the noise was at times overpowering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davechardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    29
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An experience worth a detailed review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

On our first visit to Dante restaurant, we tried the 5-course tasting menu.  It was fun to relinquish control for an evening and let the chef serve whatever he felt like making. But the servings were a bit larger than we had anticipated, and at the price, it was more expensive than we felt comfortable paying for food we couldn't finish or take home.  So, on this visit, we opted to order off the menu. 

Again, the service, food and atmosphere were all excellent. One adjustment we hope they make is to bring up the lighting a little more, if only to accommodate aging eyes like ours. People "first eat with their eyes," so to speak, so it would be nice to be able to see the food clearly (not to mention the menu). 

Since we had notified them that this would be a celebratory occasion, they served us with flutes of complimentary bubbly as we were seated. That was a nice surprise. We were seated at a two-top in a quiet cubbyhole, located beyond the kitchen at the back of the restaurant. At first it felt isolated, but after seeing how crowded and noisy the front of the restaurant was on this Friday night, we were glad to be there. Perhaps seating us in the back was intentional for romantic purposes. Had it been a warmer night, we would have liked to have been on the outdoor patio we could see through the windows near our table.

We were lucky to have Sarah as our server, who was also our server during our first visit months ago. As before, she was friendly, attentive, and very knowledgable about the food and wine. She made sure we had a very fine dining experience.

Overall, the food was well prepared and flavorful. The fresh bread brought to the table was replenished unnecessarily before we had time to finish the first batch. Their hummus that accompanied the bread was so wonderful, it's worthy of a place on the menu.  I would suggest that starter portions be reduced a bit in size (and, commensurately, in price). Currently, they are almost large enough to be entrees. At their prices, we couldn't help but try to finish them. After munching on the hummus and bread and eating the starters, we were already pretty full. If the starter portions had been smaller,  our enjoyment of the entrees probably would have been greater. 

The Salad of 7-Vegetables was a huge mound of fresh greens atop other crisp veggies, and it was properly dressed. One of two standouts of our meal was the Maine Lobster Spring Roll starter. The fried roll, cut into four pieces, had a thin, crispy shell, and each piece contained a large, succulent chunk of lobster. This outstanding dish is one we would order two of as an entree. 

The restaurant has a reputation for their amazing pasta. Their Ricotta Cavatelli alla Norma is a large and satisfying bowl of perfectly cooked pasta in a light red sauce with chunks of tomatoes and eggplant. The pan roasted Skate Wing tasted strongly of butter. Who doesn't like butter? Yet, I thought the butter was a bit excessive, overpowering the delicate flavor of the fish. The filet itself was nicely crisped on the outside, but I found it to be slightly overcooked. The salting was a little heavy-handed, too.  Although both entrees were delicious, the spring roll starter out-shined them both.

The new Chocolate Box dessert we shared was so exceptional, we were still talking about it the next day. As the name suggests, there is a hollow, topless box with walls constructed of dark chocolate resting on a square of dense, flourless chocolate cake. The box is filled with the most scrumptious and memorable banana mousse. The berry sauce smeared on the plate and the spoonful of diced strawberry beside the box complemented the chocolate and mousse perfectly. The dollop of frozen banana yogurt on the side, sitting on a little mound of coffee-flavored chocolate "dirt" granules, was also wonderful. Leave room for this dessert!

The chef-owner has received national recognition for his talents, so appreciate and experience his complex of three restaurants in Tremont, but make reservations for dinner. With so many great restaurants and clubs in the area, it may be hard to find street parking on a busy night, so be prepared with cash for a fee plus tip for valet parking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bsfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“almost ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Food was mediocre for the price. Very noisy. It is a shame as the ambiance has potential. I am being generous by saying the service was OK. I hate being negative, but what I want in a review is honesty. The restaurant is trendy and prices are accordingly. It was sort of what I expected, but was hopeful that someone would get it right. The space is in a old bank which is cool.
I

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A real find with absolutely delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Very metro restaurant in an old bank in a gentrified area of suburban Cleveland. Relatively small, seasonal menu which offers vegan and gluten free options.

Hard to say which were the best entrees as the duck, Amish chicken and perfectly cooked salmon were all so outstanding. Also the creme brûlée desert was fabulous.

Only strange note was the absurdly expensive top heavy wine list totally out of whack with this friendly and welcoming restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wsdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is cool. The restaurant used to be a bank and you can actually sit in the old bank vault. The food is top notch at typical prices you would expect in Tremont. Definitely top 10 in Cleveland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike49389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante also viewed

 

Been to Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing