We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, sharp wait staff”
Review of Ristorante Chinato

Ristorante Chinato
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Chinato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 1,844 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prospect
Description: Located in the East Fourth Street Entertainment District in Cleveland, Ohio, Chinato is the newest addition to Chef Zack Bruell's lineup of award-winning and delicious restaurants. Chinato features simple Italian cuisine at affordable prices.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, sharp wait staff”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We decided to try Chinato's because the restaurant across the street was too crowded. The result was a great dining experience, far better than we could have enjoyed at our first choice. Dining without reservations on a Friday night, we were accommodated immediately. The menu options were extensive; you will find something you like. We started with some very hearty soups. The ravioli with pork, veal, zucchini and shiitake mushrooms were outstanding; the small portion was enough. The Fettuccine Carbonara was enjoyable. The Beef Braised in Amarone was tender and full of flavor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    87
    36
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
247 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Real Italian Food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Chinato, Chef Zac Bruell's take on Italian cuisine is a Cleveland gem. If you are looking for traditional Sicilian fare like lasagne or spaghetti and meatballs, this is probably not the plave for you. If however, you enjoy a wide variety of dishes from many different regions of Italy, you should give Chinato a try. All four in our party ordered something different and no one was dissapointed. High energy location in downtown Cleveland with great service. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“This place rocks!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you want a nice evening and a nice dinner without allot of fluff, Chinato's is the place to go. We were greeted like we were regulars although it was our first visit and most defiantly not our last. This chef has his act together, (much more than the others in Cleveland) Menu was comfortable to read and the wine list dint break the bank! How about the entertainment? two guys strolling around with a violin and accordion playing your favorite tunes!! Loved it and will be back. Best restaurant on the street, no doubt about it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johhn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Good Upscale Italian”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The service and atmosphere were impeccable. The menu does not give much description so I felt like I asked the waiter to describe each option. I ordered some type of seafood pasta - it was good but a bit salty, probably would not order again. The other diners with me seemed to enjoy their choices better, though.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice upscale alternative italian restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really nice restaurant. We had a large group and received excellent service. The food we ordered was all good. It is Italian, but not what you would normally expect in the US or in Italy. Everything has a bit of a twist to it. The appetizers we liked best were the soups and the Supplì al telefono. We liked the Gnocci, Ravioli, Col Buco best of the pastas. We especially liked the sausage pizzette. and the tiramisu. One really nice feature is the pastas come in two sizes. If you are a light eater or like appetizers, the smaller portion is just right. We also liked that there were lower priced options on the dinner menu along with some very nice moderate priced entrees.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geomom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Chinato also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Chinato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing