We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Milestone birthday”
Review of Velvet Tango Room

Velvet Tango Room
Ranked #86 of 1,841 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ravenna, Ohio
Level Contributor
239 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Milestone birthday”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Five of us went to celebrate our daughter's birthday. We made a reservation for the back room which required a deposit that was applied towards the bill. The building is nondescript on the outside. Inside there is a front room that looks like an old bar. Tables, bar, wooden floors and a small tv up in the corner. There was also piano in the other corner.

The back room had a door with a one way mirror so the front room could not see in. There were plush leather couches and another piano and bar.

I noticed an outdoor garden area with high brick walls covered in ivy and a putting green complete with ball washer.

The server was very knowledgable about the menu. We ordered a variety of cocktails at $18 per drink. Our bill included a 20% gratuity.

It's not a place I could afford on a regular basis but the drinks were very good, service was excellent and ambiance was cool. The unisex bathroom had a shoe shine machine in it.

One note. The Bloody Mary is spicy and the pickle in it picks up the spices. We plan to return for another special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    11
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So much fun”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We went there for a friends birthday. The jazz band played the birthday song and really set the fun mood for the night. You must try the Moscow Mule. We just stopped by for a couple of drinks, so I can't comment on the food selection.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank expat5Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Truly great cocktails and ambience to match.”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Velvet Tango Room is a Cleveland institution which actually deserves it's reputation. It isn't really a restaurant, but a cocktail lounge that Bogart and Bacall would have felt at home visiting. It is also one of the last places that I know that still has a dress code, their motto being, "You can't overdress for the Velvet Tango Room."

There are two rooms. The front room features top local jazz musicians who play accessible standards and the back room opens on to an open air patio with a pianist who is easily enjoyed inside or out. Late night is the time when local musical luminaries may stop by and sit in. Call ahead and make reservations for the back room.

Don't go here if you are looking for an Appletini, but don't miss it if you want a completely handmade classic cocktail lovely prepared by a very professional staff. The snacks they serve are also delicious and if you want dessert, the rootbeer float is killer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saintsday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
181 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Makes You Feel Less Guilty”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have only been here twice - once last year for my birthday and now yesterday for my birthday! We go during happy hour because as the other reviewers have said, a drink costs about $20 during normal hours. The drinks are half off and it makes you a little less guilty about savoring them. My boyfriend got a High Ball this time around and I got the Rouge Awakening - which were both wonderful. We decided to try one more cocktail before we left for dinner so we split "The Last Word." Absolutely a one of a kind. (I think that's what it even says in it's menu bio) Gin, chartreuse, lime, and Maraschino liqueur. I am going to try and recreate it at home, that's how much I liked these falvors. If you are into cocktails, The Velvet Tango Room should be a stop for you at some point. There's a lot of personality and friendliness in this room - definitely people who want to share stories. It's been two great experiences for us. Also - try the complimentary cheese - it's good and you'll need it with the amount of booze that's in your $20 drink!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delsih but too pricey”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a great place for an amazing drink. The drink list is extensive and all the drinks are hand crafted, they even make their own special ice. It is small so it can get busy on the weekends. You go here for a special drink, there is a very small food menu as the focus is on the drinks. They have a back room which is reservation only but I don't think they take reservations for the bar area.The only downside is that the drinks are overpriced. While a higher than average price is warrented for the quality of the drinks, $18 is too much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clevelandtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Velvet Tango Room also viewed

 

Been to Velvet Tango Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing