We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Doesn't Like A Hot Dog ?”
Review of Happy Dog

Happy Dog
Ranked #46 of 1,845 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Description: The Happy Dog is a neighborhood corner bar in the best sense of the term. We've got hot dogs and beer, and lots of live music, from rock and country to punk and polka. The bartenders are friendly and the bar itself is open and inviting - a racetrack oval wood bar, with plenty of old chrome barstools.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Who Doesn't Like A Hot Dog ?”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This Place is Awesome. A Bar with Hot Dogs & Tater Tots that you create your own or choose the house favorites. I created a get full stuffed hot dog and loaded tater tots. This was a perfect snack for a rainy day after visiting the rock and roll museum. I wish we had a bar like this in NYC, it would be my daily hangout. A must visit when in Cleveland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NycPhoto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    68
    11
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lechlade, UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hot dogs and music”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A great variety of unusual fillings and a lively atmosphere. I believe members of the Cleveland Symphony Orchestra sometimes play there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hakluyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horicon, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good dog, too many hipsters”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent dog with lots of delicious toppings (and some not so delicious ones. Coco Puffs?) They also have Peanut Butter Cup Porter, which is worth a star all by itself. Probably the only business in Cleveland that could give Melt a run for their money in terms of overly-tattooed hipster waitstaff. I guess when you have a tattoo on your neck, your employment options are limited.

Pretty cool joint, otherwise.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PowerThrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Right mix of simple/complex”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's a hot dog and beer place. Simple enough. But wait, there are 50 topping options available for your palette, almost overwhelming to pick from. The vegan option is superior to most meat substitutes you'll find (it is intended to be sausage-like). And the beer selection is quite vast. When I went there was no live music, but I'm told it is a wonderful time when there is. Lighting was dim, bartenders very relaxed and friendly, customers all of a similar chill mindset. It really is a nice setting to hang out. This place seems like an understated gem of Cleveland. It was pretty packed, be aware of this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IYOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Wow. Hot dog heaven and beyond.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Happy Dog's menu is deceptively simple. A regular hot dog or a vegan one, french fries or tots. That's about it... until you realize that there are 50 optional toppings you can choose for your hot dog, and about half of them can be served with your potato-based side. Chorizo chili? Check. Mexican mole? Check. Coco puffs? Peanut butter? Bacon-balsamic vinegar? How about a fried egg on top? Not only are all of these toppings available on your $5 hot dog, but if you were so bold you could get all of them at once. I dare you.

Oh, and it is probably important to mention that the hot dogs are excellent, the bar is classic cool, and the draft beer list is outstanding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Dog also viewed

 

Been to Happy Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing