We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar

L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,801 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ford Drive
Transit: The RTA Health Line bus stops in University Circle at E. 115th Street. L'Albatros is located approximately 3 blocks from the bus stop.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
166 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Tasty Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Came here for Happy Hour on a Saturday. Nice to find out that this place has Happy Hour (at the bar only) on weekends too. The bartender and the rest of the crew at the bar were attentive and friendly. The Happy Hour menu was very good with reduced prices for both drinks and food.

We ordered the Charcuterie Plate and Goat Cheese Tart - so yummy! Bread is also served with dipping olive oil. Their dipping olive oil is Zack Bruel's - again so yummy. We'll be back to this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ligaya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    143
    41
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Almost a five star! One of the best in Cleveland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is our 3rd time at L'Albatros. The food is simply sublime! Quality / Price - excellent. The appetizers are quite heavy (for instance, the mushroom French Toast) could be an entree! The soups, salads - everything was great! The cheese plater - and fromagier, really ends the meal in a fun manner (she knew her cheeses!). The lack of "coziness" is what prevents me from giving it a five star, and our waiter this time aroun (trying to speak with a French accent ... hum, we are French...please stick to English, otherwise it becomes insulting?!?) - other then that, great restaurant!!! Appetizers ($ 7.00 to $ 13.00, entrees around $ 15 to $23.00), quite reasonable for the quality/variety of food you have at l'Albatros! Great Wine card as well!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UnVentdeFolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We always have dinner here when in town. The food is very good and the service professional. The atmosphere is cozy and some of the tables are quite close together.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank east12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a good experience there. French food a bit heavy for me but it was not too bad. I would go back when I have a chance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dream_traveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Either amazing or good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Everything we've had here has been good - a few things have been amazing. Their cocktails are excellent and they often make me a great lemonade martini that is only on their summer menu. The french toast appetizer is incredible. It's a romantic place to go for dinner. Service has always been outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winterbeachbum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar also viewed

 

Been to L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing