We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worth trying” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar

L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,822 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ford Drive
Transit: The RTA Health Line bus stops in University Circle at E. 115th Street. L'Albatros is located approximately 3 blocks from the bus stop.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a good experience there. French food a bit heavy for me but it was not too bad. I would go back when I have a chance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dream_traveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    160
    51
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Either amazing or good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Everything we've had here has been good - a few things have been amazing. Their cocktails are excellent and they often make me a great lemonade martini that is only on their summer menu. The french toast appetizer is incredible. It's a romantic place to go for dinner. Service has always been outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winterbeachbum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try it once and you will fall in love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Check it out. Its romantic. The GM kim is great as well as her staff..I am in love with CLE and have been everywhere....This place is a must if you live in cle or are visiting

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just ok, and overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

A bunch of foodie friends and I went to this restaurant together. It was ok, atmosphere nice, but the food was way overpriced for what we received. Should have been amazing, but it was just good. None of us have gone back. Many other MUCH better places to eat in Cleveland.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always a fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been to l'Albatros several times and I always enjoy it. The "French Toast" is my absolute favorite, even if the name is a bit misleading (it's actually more of a mushroom bruschetta type dish and it's wonderful). I also really like their cocktails which often feature strong floral or herbal components. And off course they are known for their cheeses, a unique experience I highly recommend at least once. The cheeses are all displayed on a large board that they bring around to your table when you order. They will explain to you what each cheese is and where it comes from as well as its primary qualities. After you make your choices, they will cut it and plate it for you at the table. I think you can pick between 3, 5, or 7 cheeses and the choices change on a regular basis. It's a fun and interactive experience that is really good for sharing with friends or a date. It does add quite a bit of time to the meal, so I would make sure that you account for that if you have plans after dinner. Since the restaurant is so close to Severance Hall, many people make reservations for dinner before going to the orchestra and the cheese plate really should not be rushed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank noodlenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar also viewed

 

Been to L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing