We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting Tour!

You can walk through yourself, but make sure you take every opportunity to hear the stories from... read more

Reviewed November 8, 2018
171terrir
,
Brownstown, MI, United States
Small But Worthwhile Stop

Historic ship displays are eye-wateringly expensive to operate and maintain. Visiting the USS COD... read more

Reviewed November 7, 2018
Gary C
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Read all 514 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cleveland
from $58.00
More Info
from $26.00
More Info
from $42.00
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
377
119
16
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
119
16
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cod self guided tour subs during wwii deck gun tight quarters torpedo room climb down conning tower these men piece of history great lesson first hand kids will love rock n roll hall of fame free parking well worth the visit
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 514 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2016

there is not a lot of headroom , the ceilings are surprisingly short , but overall the tour was great

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank bill22joannie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

A most noteworthy craft that has been excellently restored! It seems they only lost one man to an accident through the war in the pacific, but the sub took a tool on Japanese shipping. Very good attention to detail through the sub, many “audio experience” displays that help to tell the story of shipboard life on a submarine of this class. Everything is very well done, the torpedoes, the cans of food stored EVERYWHERE as the ship is laden before a cruise. The beds all look ready for use and the wardrooms and work spaces are as authentic as they can be! This submarine could certainly host a war movie, and it looks like it is ready to batten don the hatches and head to sea! Very interesting tour as it was not busy the day I went through. Took my time [they said a 1.5 hour tour but I took an extra hour] and took lots of photos with a low light camera!

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Capt_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

This is a great stop if you have an hour or so, to really get to explore the submarine. It's amazing how many men stayed in the sub at one time. There is a lot to explore, and you get to climb down into it the same way they did. So, be prepared for some steep ladders. I wouldn't take little ones who couldn't climb down the ladders themselves. But, older kids will LOVE it. My 3 1/2 year old did fine on the ladder, but he's a bit of a monkey! They also have free parking in their lot - bonus!

Date of experience: September 2016
3  Thank 668sherih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We were very impressed with this submarine!! Everything is exactly as it was during WWII. To think our fathers who fought in WWII fought on a ship like this was amazing.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank 509hopeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We had a great visit to the Cod. First of all, they have a free parking lot for Cod visitors. The volunteers are friendly and both the printed guide and the audio guides on board are informative. It is really important that we all see what it truly was like for our armed forces in World War II. Everything is set up well like it would have been at the time. Be warned: it is a submarine and steep ladders must be climbed in and out. Requires basic physical fitness.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Corgi_Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews