We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great zoo - don't go on free day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Metroparks Zoo

Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
Ranked #12 of 163 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't miss this exciting metropolitan zoo best known for having the largest collection of primates in the United States and for its Rainforest exhibit, which features a thrilling simulated tropical rain storm.
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great zoo - don't go on free day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This year we decided to take our 4 year old grandson to the zoo. Problem was we happened to go on the FREE day by coincidence. Horrible! Crowded! Hot! We had to park in an overflow lot, battle crowds of people with coolers and take forever to gain entrance. Another major problem is that it is impossible to find any zoo staff to ask where anything in the park is located. It's a shame because we have a highly rated zoo, and it is understaffed. The only place we could enjoy was the dinosaur exhibit which was slightly shady and not crowded - probably because you had to pay for entrance to this! It is a little elementary, however. My 4 year old grandson asked if the dinosaurs were toys. What does that say? Not very realistic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank miss_patty526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    329
    95
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wonderful way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

great way to spend a day with family, lots of animals, lots of walking and fresh air, the exhibits are thought out and informative, lots of fun, lots of picnic spaces

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moniflysua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We luv this zoo. So many things to see n do. Its a beautiful place take a nice long stroll n enjoy nature

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cledagrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Loved the Rainforest, very well done. The monkeys were my favorite animals along with the Koalo bears & tree Kangaroo.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent a few hours here after a soccer tournament. The exhibits are great. I love the size of the elephant exhibit and I had never seen a koala in person. They have an option to feed birds here, as I have seen at many other zoos, but theirs is a bit different. Rather than having bird food on sticks (tongue depresser type sticks), here they sell you little cups of nectar for the birds to drink from.

Because we went on Columbus Day weekend (not peak summer time), some things were closed. Mainly the 'ride a camel' experience that my kids were really looking forward to (open Memorial Day to Labor Day). Also, some of the food kiosks (up near the cats/sharks) were not open and one of the tram stations was closed.

There are trade offs when going during the off peak months, but I still paid the same amount as if I went during the peak time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleveland Metroparks Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Cleveland Metroparks Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing