We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,239)
Filter reviews
2,239 results
Traveler rating
694
726
506
209
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
726
506
209
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesrock and roll hallhall of famedouble treeshuttle serviceexecutive floorfree shuttler rwithin walking distanceview of the lakescience centerfront desk staffhotel shuttlefootball stadiumbrowns stadiumbreakfast buffetupon check
Filter
Updating list...
780 - 785 of 2,239 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2016

The rooms themselves were ok. They were clean and relatively comfortable. The restaurant on the other hand was terrible. I suggest you skip it it entirely. The breakfast buffet leaves a to to be desired as the food choices were limited and the eggs were very bad. The dinner was ok, but the service was very very slow.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank chay0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

This is just a couple of blocks away from some of the big Cleveland sights- the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the Free Stamp, the Great Lakes Science Center, and so on. It would be an excellent base for sightseeing on foot, when the weather is nice. Our stays are usually winter ones, so we appreciated the attached garage.

One note about the garage- the employee at the counter told us the paper ticket is "garbage" and there are full in/out privileges attached to the stay; you don't have to pay every time, just use the room key. I don't know if that was Hilton Honors specific or just generally speaking, but it's something to ask about. An attached elevator takes you directly to the hotel lobby. The elevator was filthy, but it was a partially exposed garage in the winter so I guess it happens.

There is a Starbucks, a restaurant and a small snack bar on the first level, and this was all extremely convenient. Our room was nicely appointed (really great shower) and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. There was no bathroom vent (why is there never a bathroom vent?) but everything else was as it should be. Our view was of the lakefront and, apart from some loud guests across the hallway, things were relatively quiet.

We had room service steak for Valentine's Day dinner and it was excellent. The food arrived quickly and hot, although they did forget the drinks. We weren't charged for what didn't arrive, though.

This was a nice spot. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Parking garage has in/out privileges
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2016

There was a large youth sports event held there in January. We had requested and paid for an upgrade and the room certainly did not disappoint. It was fantastic as was the location to the convention center. What I was disappointed in is because it was cold most of us wanted to stay in and eat or drink at the hotel. The more I travel the more I scratch my head at what seems to be a disconnect from the front desk/booking to the restaurant and bar. This hotel was sold out that weekend yet they had 1 bartender and 4 waitresses working on Saturday night. I'm assuming the same for the kitchen. We couldn't get into the restaurant so went into the bar to order a carryout to just take it back up to the room to eat dinner. We were told that a to go order would be about an hour and a half. I asked is that the same if we eat in the bar area and they said at least an hour. Of course this is after we waited 20 mins just to talk to someone to try to place an order. I would think that hotels would understand with that type of crowd more and all rooms booked that more staff = more money in food and drink orders because you can turn them quicker. What happened here was a lot of unhappy people, bills being discounted and people turning around and walking away.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank 11sportsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2016

The location of the hotel was great. We traveled there for Valentine's weekend and ended up paying a crazy inflated rate but it was supposed to be the one super nice hotel of our 3 night stay in the US. It turns out this hotel was by far the worst of the 3 and cost almost 4 times as much as the hotels we stayed in for the other 2 nights. The fridge was moldy and unplugged, we wiped it out and plugged it in only to find that it leaked while we were out for the evening. The towel bar was pulled out of the wall. The wallpaper was coming off the wall in three different places and the furniture was very beat up. There was no mention of wifi access so we tried calling the front desk but that number kept resulting in a busy signal. We finally called the actual hotel number and got someone who gave us the wifi password. The room did appear to be clean. Only rooms on the east side of the building have a view of the lake. The west side rooms face another tall building...and of course, I had the west side. It's just not the experience I was expecting for $300 plus for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri L, on behalf of the staff at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2016

Dear Morgan B,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with the fridge and room conditions with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

Dirty, dated, horrible food. Ironically, really good service from desk and room service. Odd smell in room, fingerprints on mirrors and tv, black-out curtains wouldn't close. Do yourself a favor and pay more....book another hotel, any other hotel.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank katec3397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri L, on behalf of the staff at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews