We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Cleveland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Cleveland, United States
1 review
“Trip to Cleveland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our stay was only for (2) night but the experience was very good. Had a little trouble when we check in but the agent found the mistake and corrected it and gave us a free movie rental but due toi the short stay could not us it. The restaurant had good food and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the DoubleTree Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. Our goal is to provide the best service and accommodations possible and we are pleased to have achieved our goal. We apologize for whatever slowed the check in process and sorry that your were not able to take advantage of the complimentary movie that was offered. Our Culinary Team was so excited to know that your dining experience was, in your words "EXCELLENT" yeah!!!..... Meeting our guests expectations is what it's all about and we're glad to have met yours. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again and we're looking forward to that day.
Thanks again for the feedback it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    547
    384
    152
    71
See reviews for
428
516
74
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daleville, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nice hotel. Good central location within walking distance to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Science Museum, and several nice restaurants. Good garage parking with direct access to the lobby. Although the garage is not well marked, there is temporary parking for registration just inside garage door.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank KenRay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We are very pleased to have met your expectations and satisfaction during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Achieving our goal with providing the best service and accommodations is something we take a lot of pride in. We are glad that we made you stay, just know that your feedback has made our day.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is situated on the lake for a beautiful view, close the the Browns Stadium and a section of downtown with glorious brew pubs. The rooms are very nice and comfortable but the relaxation was rudely interrupted when I could not sit and have breakfast shortly after 10AM before starting my day. Usually, during the week, breakfast is served until 11 AM.

In addition, BE PREPARED, upon entering the hotel driveway I was stopped by a man claiming to have had his family and vehicle stopped on the highway when the cops picked him up and dropped at a bank who would not accept his drivers license...did I say it was a Sunday...I don't know any bank opened on a Sunday. I refused of course, but this would not be the last time I ran into the individual. I went to the part of downtown with restaurants and brew pubs and saw the individual walking the streets. Upon leaving the restaurant, this man entered and when he walked by me he hit my arm pretending to do so innocently. I reported him to the hotel but wanted to warn others not to fall for this individual's antics!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water otherwise you will get a view of the parking garage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuckerhayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Reviews regarding your hotel stay are awesome and much appreciated by our entire staff. In addition to giving great comments regarding your hotel stay, taking the time to remind others of the importance of how to stay safe and exercise caution while visiting larger cities is a very valuable piece of information and advise to pass on to all that read reviews. Although encountering a con-artist (which you handled the situation very well) we are happy that your stay at the hotel and visit to the Cleveland area was enjoyable.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a weekend visit to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame visit. Great location...walking distance to Hall, Browns' Stadium and East 4th Street.

Hotel is very clean and staff is very professional. Free shuttle to downtown attractions a nice touch.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Inothreeputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. It is such a pleasure to read that our hotel provided the type of service and accommodations you have come to expect from the DoubleTree by Hilton brand. We achieved our goal and for that we are excited. We offer a wonderful RRHF package that includes 2 tickets to the museum, breakfast for 2 and complimentary parking, this package is a great value that I hope you were able to take advantage of. Your feedback has been shared with our entire staff for your comments are of great value to all of us and much appreciated.
Thanks again for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newaygo, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Since we were celebrating our 45th anniversary, we wanted everything to be perfect, and it was. From the moment we walked through the doors until we left, the staff was exceptional. Even though we were early for check in, Carmella greeted us with a big smile and made sure our room was ready. She was so friendly and as warm as the delicious chocolate chip cookie she gave us. She suggested a good place to eat that was fabulous. She went out of her way to make us welcome. When we got to our room it wreaked of cigarette smoke. Since I had asked for a nonsmoking room, I called the desk and asked to be moved. Leanna apologized and was to our room within minutes to take us to a new room. She made sure the new room fit my request of a lake view. The new room smelled fresh and was very clean as was the bathroom. Later that evening I went to lobby and asked Burgundy a question about parking since we were going to the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame the next morning. She was very helpful and told me we could leave our car in the parking ramp until 6:00 PM, which meant we wouldn't have to find a new parking spot. Breakfast was very good and the chef made my husband a gigantic omelet and chatted with him as he prepared it. He too was very personable. Our waitress, Elham, was also friendly and attentive, and she had a great sense of humor which made our dining more enjoyable. We were able to take the free shuttle everywhere we went, and didn't have to wait long for service. The drivers were friendly and courteous. Double Tree Inn helped to make our anniversary perfect. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Mike and Tanya

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are nice. I sat and watched the boats while relaxing between excursions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjs51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Being able to make your 45th Anniversary something special was truly our pleasure! However, you taking the time to write such an acknowledging review of your experience is AWESOME!! But the coolest part of your review is that you took the time to specifically name team members that provided outstanding service.....now that's really awesome! Hopefully your travels will bring you back to the Cleveland area and your able to stay with us again. We feel great when we're able to achieve or goal in meeting our guests expectations.
Thank you again, your feedback has been shared with out entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location for the rock n roll hall of fame and any professional sporting event in the city. As much as I enjoyed the location, the staff left something to be desired. They were professional but not at all friendly and charged me the incorrect room rate for the room I booked through Hilton.com. Great choice for venue if you can deal with the staff's indifference to you while you are there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 829rhondac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. We are happy to hear that our accommodations met your expectations, but sadden that we fell short with providing the level of service that was anticipated. We apologize for all inconveniences experienced during your stay and reassure you that the service described is Atypical of the service level normally delivered by our team members. Thank you for the valuable feedback that will assist us with making improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Came into town for the Eagles concert & stayed at the Doubletree. Everyone was very friendly! Upon arrival you're given fresh baked cookies which are delicious. Hotel is very modern & the beds, seriously best I have ever slept in. Also, terrific view of Lake Erie!!! Will stay here next time we venture to Cleveland!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank klizzylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
You gotta love the COOKIES!! We love offering that warm,chocolate,nutty delight to our guest as a welcome to the DoubleTree brand and yes they are deliciously fabulous! So, from the time you step to the front desk to check in to the time you drop your keys off at check out our goal is to ensure that you enjoy every aspect of the stay. We are truly happy to have been able to exceed your expectations. Please visit with us again....we have plenty of nice warm cookies, clean and comfortable accommodations and a team that's just waiting to take care of your every need.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Property: Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#20 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing