We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great collection of historic cars.

Did this visit just because there wasn't much else to do in the downtown. They have anumberof... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Rick H
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
a great automobile museum and refurbish merry go round

Great history center with a wonderful and one of a kind automobile museum and wonderfully rebuild... read more

Reviewed November 5, 2018
CCW711
,
Solon, Ohio
Read all 150 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cleveland
from $26.00
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $58.00
More Info
from $49.99
More Info
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
91
49
8
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
49
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old cars western reserve crawford auto aviation museum merry go round stainless steel euclid beach park on display auto industry air races car buff grand carousel free rides bob hope carousel ride concept cars hanna house race cars
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 150 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Besides the cool collection of vintage cars at the Crawford Auto Aviation Museum (which is part of the Cleveland History Center), you'll see the Wedell-Williams Ring-Free Comet - which was a racing aircraft that flew in the Thompson Trophy air race in Cleveland, Ohio in 1937. Unfortunately, it dropped out of the event due to engine failure.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland H, Public Relations Manager at Cleveland History Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Hi Mark -
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know about your visit, and for being an ambassador of not only Cleveland history, but auto and aviation history as well. Please stop in and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

This was our third visit and we'd go again. Our grandkids loved it. So much to see so plan to be there all day. It's walkable from a number of hotels. Exhibits change from time to time. Be sure to take in the videos and interactive displays. The gift shop is amazing so be sure to briwse.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland H, Public Relations Manager at Cleveland History Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Hi Christine -
Thanks for taking a moment to write a review and sharing your experience with us and others. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and that you've been to visit us 3 times! Please be sure to come in again. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

Thank you for this trip down memory lane! Every year from 1957-1969 our family, along with my aunt, uncle and cousins , would converge on The Beach on nickel day and ride our hearts out! Your lovely display of memorabilia brought it all back in a flood of memories. We loved the carousel, it is a spectacular display! We also enjoyed Lolly the Trolly and our trip to the original site. It's quite sad the only thing remaining on that "hallowed ground" is the arch but our tour guides were wonderful and full of knowledge and stories about our favorite park. Everyone in your facility was as friendly and helpful as can be. We didn't have much extra time to absorb everything in your building (cars, costumes , the mansion, etc). We are saving that for another day. Thank you, again, for preserving Cleveland's history for generations to come. P.S. of course we left with Humphreys Popcorn, Kisses, and a souvenir shirt!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jjudy4sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland H, Public Relations Manager at Cleveland History Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for joining us for Euclid Beach Park Day! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the day with us, especially the Lolly the Trolly tours which were new this year. We sincerely hope you will Save The Date (June 20, 2019) and join us again next year for another day of Euclid Beach fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

A wonderful combination of artifacts of the history and industry of Northern Ohio. The carousel was refurbished over years with great care and sits within a specially designed museum room addition and was rescued from Euclid Beach, a popular local amusement park dating back over 100 years. The other artifacts display some very unique aircraft,automobiles,and even the original Wahoo icon from the now defunct Municipal Stadium.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland H, Public Relations Manager at Cleveland History Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Hi John - Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. We're pleased to hear you enjoy the pieces of our collection, and the story it tells of the region once known as the Western Reserve. Also, we couldn't agree more that the Euclid Beach Park Grand Carousel is a must ride for any museum attendee! Thank you again, and please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

I love history and learning about the cities I’m visiting. This history center was lacking a flow. There is one room with a video which was excellent. In that room there are several Cleveland related artifacts which were wonderful. Note, too many were tucked away in drawers which you had to open yourself and hold open to see. The space could be used to display these pieces better. There is a section for old cars. Old cars are great but I couldn’t see a sign or plaque stating why they were all inside this Cleveland History museum. For the outside tourist I would loved to see something stating how this all fit together. There is also an indoor carrousel which was important to Cleveland. The other half is terrible. There are two mansions that they brought together and you can walk through them. They are hot and boring. They are furnished showing old time Americana items which I typically love but it seemed not to flow at all with a Cleveland History theme. I’d personally like to see furniture from the specific time and or related to Cleveland. Tucked away in these dark rooms you learn a bit about the guy who founded the Cleveland Clinic. It’s a painting and a small plaque/sign. I would have loved to see his journey displayed more prominently in the history room or maybe have his own short video loop. Lastly, Cleveland has a rich history and this museum barely touches on it.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Octorafest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland H, Public Relations Manager at Cleveland History Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

We wanted to take a second to thank you for providing us with feedback about your visit. We are very sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit, and felt our spaces didn’t properly portray Cleveland’s story. Please know, Cleveland Starts Here®️ Is just the beginning phase of our transformation of Cleveland’s story within our museum. We have since forwarded your review along to our management team to help us improve upon the overall visitor experience and truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts on our museum. Thank you again, and we hope your next visit with us is much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews