We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not hype.”

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame
Ranked #4 of 177 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is alive with the energy, passion and the spirit of music we celebrate. The 150,000 square-foot museum features seven floors, four theaters for films and ever-changing exhibits - plus, you can even rent the Rock Hall for a private event. Tour at your leisure. You can spend as little as an hour, or up to an entire day exploring all the Rock Hall's exhibits. Right here in Cleveland, Ohio, you will find the only museum devoted to the story of rock and roll! Photos (w/o flash) and video encouraged!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It's not hype.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was the highlight of my Cleveland experience. There's so much to see and hear, I would return if I am in town again. I liked the theaters to watch highlights from rock and roll history. I saw Michael Jackson's glove from the Billie Jean video. Elvis. Springsteen. Billy Joe. They all get their due. After Dick Clark's death it was especially fun and poignant to watch clips from American Bandstand and understand how much that show influenced music then.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,796
    1,713
    607
    143
    58
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Any time is a good time to visit the Rock Hall.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Everytime you visit the Rock Hall it's a treat.
there are always new displays.
the memorabilia is incredible, the building itself is awesome. I have the good fortune of being a lifetime member and can visit whenever I need the lift. Restores the rock and roll persona I've been trying to keep alive for a long time. Enjoy your visit!

Helpful?
Thank MsCBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Get your ROCK ON - something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Seriously, I did the pilgrimage to the Rock N Rock Hall of Fame in May 2012 and it was so worth the trip. I didn't even like the featured band/exhibit (Greatful Dead), but I got a lot out of it. My mother (71) found many fascinating tidbits as well. Enjoyed the introductory film. Stunning and moving (really, really well done and unexpected). Loved embarking on Johnny Cash's bus. Neat. Enjoyed the clips from the induction ceremonies (watched them all). Loved the hand written stuff in cases and screamed each time I read something that was tied to my youth (re: Blondie, Fleetwood Mac). We had a blast and normally my mom doesn't "do" anything twice. That's saying a lot.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Steelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

There was some cool memorabilia. Not a ton to see and you cannot take pictures inside but if you are in Cleveland it is worth a visit

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“"Premier destination for Rock and Roll lovers"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is jam packed with everything music. For the admission price of $22.00 per adult (with discounts for military, seniors and children) you will be transformed to the world of rock and roll. You will encounter 7 floors of exhibits from various artists. They do require you leave your camera inside your vehicle no pictures allowed inside the museum. There is a gift shop there and also a cafeteria in the museum. Plan to spend several hours there to enjoy all the exhibits. They also have 4 theaters for you to enjoy. The museum is open everyday except Thanksgiving and Christmas day. A must stop while in the Cleveland area. Highly recommended for the entire family.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kymgroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock & Roll Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to Rock & Roll Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing