We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location/Good Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location/Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

Mixed business and short winter vacation, brought family along December 28-31. Needed to be close to the Quicken Areana (as to not have to drive downtown during winter snow season) so the location on Euclid is perfect. Short walk to the Fourth Street shops, restaurant, bars (including House of Blues, Comedy Club and Bowling Alley). Good pubs in the area including Flannery's and Morioritie's (sp) and Harry Buffalo.

We are on the 15th floor with a lakeview room. The room has high ceilings, separate kitchenette, sitting-room, bedroom with two queen-sized beds (rooms are not physically separated by doors). Do not notice any strange odors as reported in previous posts. Hotel is beautiful. Elevators are small but efficient and all appear to be operational. There is only a check-in desk in the lobby but second floor mezzanine has sitting areas, televisions, computer and dest, pool tables and plenty of space.

Staff is friendly and attentive (slight issue yesterday getting bedding for pull-out, but that was resolved in the morning). This was due to a late check-in and upgrade. Sammy"s breakfest and lunch (in the lobby) is excellent for meals. There is also a deli and news stand off the lobby as well. There is limited street-front space for guest drop-off and pick-up so be prepared to make a few laps if you arrive at busy times.

Tip: Parking is off of Euclid on Sixth (enter garage, pick up ticket and self-park) be sure to bring the ticket with you to check-in. Desk staff will validate the ticket and then you can use it to exit (this is a totally automatic garage with no attendent).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IonicCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    340
    110
    29
    36
See reviews for
202
350
40
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Mi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

This hotel was in a great location downtown. The rooms were very large, hardwood floors, cathedral ceilings, comfy beds, free internet, and front desk was very helpful and courteous. Parking is $12 per day, and right next to the hotel. The bad things - there was a very strange smell in the hallways and rooms. I would bring a plug-in air freshener. The free breakfast was nothing special, but I haven't found too many that are. The hot food was pretty bad. The warm cinnamon rolls were good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

This hotel used to house a bank many years ago, which is evident in the architecture. But many updates have been done, and the whole place looks fantastic to me. Yes, there is construction all around, but that's just Cleveland! The staff at the hotel was very helpful and genuinely friendly. They called cabs for us and recommended nearby bars and restaurants for us. The room was clean, bed very comfy, just had a few surprise taxes/fees on my bill upon check-out that I was unprepared for, but oh well. Overall it was a pleasant stay, and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelKelWv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is in a great location but that is about it. The doorman was very helpful, the only other plus. There is no lobby, the TV is the size of a computer screen and bed is cardboard. The place smells like old cigarettes and they are doing construction across the street. There have to better hotels in downtown Cleveland, stay at one of those.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalsaPicante78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

location was great the rnr hall of fame ,a mall and pleanty of food and drink choices allwithin easy walking distance some just steps away .hotel was clean and staff was good overall but you can see places that are in need of repair .checked in and was put on 5th floor if you want a veiw you should be on 9th or better . breakfest was ok for free pleanty of food but after 2 day was ready for change.this hotel has a wide range of rooms if you have a choice to up grade for cheap do it . the only problem we had was getting tothe internet and that was important to us first room did not work thay could not get it to work after hour and half they moved us to a room across the hall still no good .the computer in the lobby would not connect so we where told we could use one in the office and it would not work either so we had to call friends to get the things done we needed done big pain in the ace and took way more time from us than it should have . i booked this room on priceline for $50 and was worth that but if i had paid fullprice i would not have been happy

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getinglost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, AR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

Great location and facilities for an economical hotel. 5 min walk from Tower City Station (connections from/to the airport). Walk to 4th St. restaurants, ballpark, R&R Hall of Fame. Catch the rapid bus to museums and botanical gardens in front of the hotel. Converted 19th century bank building has huge, high-ceilinged rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful and complimentary breakfast included eggs, bacon, etc. All-in-all an excellent value and great location for car-less visitors. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bburx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed one night over Labor Day weekend, and were quite pleased. We'd gotten a great deal, only $67 for a King, but I honestly would've still been satisfied if we'd paid the regular rate. Our room was spacious and spotless, and the bed was very comfortable. We weren't bothered by any noise from adjoining rooms or upstairs--which may have been unoccupied. The hardwood floors in the hall (3rd Floor) were a nice touch for a Hotel, and in great shape. We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but those we dealt with were pleasant and helpful. It was an easy walk to Progressive Field and dinner (at Saigon-yum!). Breakfast was nothing fancy, but did the job. It's not the Ritz, but it did the job quite nicely for us, and I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114-3007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing