We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot with unique rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with 3 other couples who had adjoining rooms (road trip!). What a great location this hotel is in. We walked everywhere, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and House of Blues plus a Street Fest. No need to take your car anywhere. The hotel itself was nicely done and the staff were friendly. The hotel is historic as well. The rooms have 9 foot ceilings and were very clean and spacious. I would have liked a mini fridge but the front desk said they could not find the key to the storage area where the fridges were. I thought this sounded a little bit off but I got some ice instead.
Other than that, the place was great for all of us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
PS. There is a popcorn machine in the waiting area that the staff make popcorn regularly for customers. That was a nice little touch too.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank smilingmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was a great renovation with beautiful hardwoods. Room was cavernous. Had a problem with a loud neighbor on night one playing video games in the wee hours but got through it with my earbuds. Service was good and loved the location - easy walk to public square toting a dolly with boxes. The bath shower was small but the Water pressure was great and the shower head was one of the bear I have enjoyed. There was a loud plumving rattle twice but not while I was sleeping. This was not perfect but highly servicable and you could do Much worse. Highly recommended after two nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cincylitigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to stay in Cleveland. Right between Progressive Field and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
Staff if friendly and helpful. Roa are large and clean. The only downside was the mattresses. They were old and worn. You can feel every spring in them and made loud noises as you moved.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tpamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Tpamp,
We appreciate your business! Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You will be happy to hear that we are working on updating our mattresses room by room with much better ones. People seem to love or hate the ones we purchases with the renovation last summer, but we have a good number of them replaced, and will continue to replace them with higher quality mattresses as the year goes on. We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Big room, good pillows, tall ceilings, large windows. We had a room on a higher floor away from the elevator to increase quiet sleep. The halls are wide but are marble floors so it's very echoed when people walk/close doors/speak etc. The bathroom was big but needed a caulking job around the tub, little dingy. Good for one night, walking distance to Indian's game and lots of bars/restaurants. Little street/people late night noise as our window was on the street. Ask also for a room not on the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Caroline G,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am interested to know what room you were in so that I can take a look at the tub! You can contact me at anytime at 216.443.1000 ext 4402 or by e-mail at mariap@experienceclevleand.com. Thank you so much for your feedback. It is very much appreciated, as we use all of these reviews to become better and better at what we do. Thank you and Happy Travels!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having been raised in a house that was built in 1878 I’m not big on staying in old buildings. This hotel was another pleasant surprise on how an old city business building can be transformed into a modern, functional hotel. The location on Euclid Ave was very convenient for our activities, being the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the Indians baseball stadium, both within walking distance. Check in was a breeze with the hotel having curb parking for around six cars for loading and unloading purposes. Parking is just around the corner and the fee ($14/day) is tacked onto your hotel bill. The rooms/suites are very spacious with I’m guessing, 12’ ceilings and huge windows. I got a chill when I imagined how the room would feel on a winter’s day with the ancient single pain windows but on a mild summers day such was not our problem. Our room faced Euclid Ave which was a pleasant addition. The cable operated elevators ran smooth as silk. The floor coverings in the hallways and room were hardwood, not carpet. This is a pleasant departure from the high maintenance carpet we see in so many hotels. Even though the wood floor in our room could have been cleaner, the impression you get from the handsome wood floor is a good one, unlike the impression one gets from stained carpet. The staff was helpful when we needed their services. Breakfast was good but was not ready when the posted start time (6AM weekdays) arrived. It seemed the 6AM breakfast start was when the breakfast staff started, not the actual time the breakfast supplies were out in their entirety. Not a big problem but it did goof up our departure schedule as we went to breakfast early to fine no hot food available yet. Within 30 minutes the breakfast bar was complete so we still had some hot food before we hit the road. Guests do have to sign a no party noise policy which requires everyone to keep the noise down after 9PM. We have never had to sign such an agreement in all the years of traveling we have under our belts. Could this be a result of the hardwood floors as they do make for a louder environment? This didn’t bother us as we did not have any serious partying on our agenda. The wall to adjoining suite was pretty thin as we heard our neighbors at 2AM so be aware of that modern problem. The hotel is not cheap by any means but it is competitive with the other establishments in that part of the city. Should we be in downtown Cleveland again we certainly will look at staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just spent the night at the Holiday Inn Express. We walked to the Cleveland Indians game and the Casino. It is a great location. Our room was spacious and had beautiful hardwood floors. Such a unique setting. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast is included but you do have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for any downtown activities so that you can walk to them. The rooms are really clean and quiet. They have tall ceilings and wood floors. Staff is very pleasant. The bed and pillows are so comfortable. They do charge $14 a day for parking in nearby garage and breakfast is ok, it,s free but I prefer better eggs. The price is comparable with most downtown Cleveland hotels and I found it to be bit more reasonable. They take AAA discounts. We enjoyed so much that we stayed on two different occasions this summer.

Room Tip: Get a room away from elevator as ice machine is closest to there. We were on the top floor and enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flatrockrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114-3007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $113 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing