We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous comfy rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place! Gorgeous gym floors, tall ceilings and my room had a killer
Jet tub!! I always thought crap of Cleveland but between this hotel and the nearby beach I won't mind heading back there for work!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chdcarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Chdcarro,

Thank you for staying with us! I am so happy to hear that you have a better impression of Cleveland, Ohio due to your recent visit. Our city is so full of life, creativity, great people, great attractions and AMAZING food and has really become a shining example of what it means to make a comeback. We are so proud of our city and our hotel, it is so awesome to hear that you, our guest, is seeing it the same way we do. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff and Visitors Bureau. They will be so excited! Thank you for posting, and again for staying with us. We will see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
P: 216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in early 2011 and had absolutely no problems. Following that visit, I gave a very positive review on this site. I visited Cleveland again earlier this year and stayed at this same hotel. This visit was far less pleasant. When I checked in the man at the front desk told me he could not find my reservation even though I had made one weeks in advance. He acted as if I was asking him to perform some huge task to check again. He was very smug and cocky about it as if I were asking his to do something other than his job. Eventually we found my reservation(turns out he typed my name in wrong) and I got my keys and went up to my room. Once getting to my room I just wanted to lay down after a long trip but my keys did not work and I could not get inside. I went back down to the lobby to tell the worker who gave me the keys that they did not work. When I handed them to him, he just looked at them and told me to try again. I told him that they still were not going to work because he did nothing but look at them. He then said to me, "What do you know?" I told him I wanted to speak with someone else and he just walked away. He did not get another worker. I waited for 15 minutes before another worker came out. She apologized for the keys not working and gave me new ones. She was very nice although I was left with a very bitter feeling after dealing with the first worker. I am very surprised this hotel would hire people who would be so rude and smug with customers. Next time I visit Cleveland(which I do frequently) I'll be sure to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

ExplorerTW,

Thank you so much for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown for your recent trip to Cleveland. I am so sorry to hear you were so disappointed by the service you received. This is totally our of character for our front desk staff and I would love the opportunity to speak with you about this situation in more detail. I would really appreciate it if you could call me at 216.443.1000 ext 4402 or e-mail me at mariap@experiencecleveland.com. Again, I am so sorry to hear of the poor service you were provided, we live a service culture that is dedicated to genuine midwestern hospitality and value the relationships that we create with our guests. Our intentions are to leave you impressed, not to shock you in a negative way and in this we have failed. We will use your review as a training tool for the front desk staff to help us provide the level of service that we are aiming for. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is truly a gift. I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
P: 216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the past year. I strongly feel that for the price this is the best hotel to stay at if you are going to The Horseshoe. I pay a little over $100 with my AAA discount and the rooms are clean with hardwood floors. Don't get me wrong it isn't a 5 star hotel but you can't beat the price. 2 years ago I picked a different hotel to go to by the casino payed twice the price and it's was father away and absolutely disgusting.

Room Tip: There is a parking garage around the corner. The Holiday Inn will give you a discount if you park th...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittykatla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

KittyKatla,

Thank you for staying with us! Here at the Holiday Inn Express, we pride ourselves on offering everything that you need and nothing that you don't. This helps us provide some of the most competitive prices downtown. Our rates include Wi-Fi and Breakfast and our $14 self-parking is the cheapest of any other nearby hotel. It just makes sense. Thats why we always tell everyone to "Stay Smart!" I am so glad that you enjoyed the hardwood floors too. Let us know when you will be back! Win big at Horseshoe for us next time! Thank you for your review and see you soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

All in all, I was very happy with our stay, *but* if it would bother you not to have maid service for 3 days, you might not like this. On the first day, they tried to come at around 8 (!), but we were still in bed. After that, we didn't see them. On the other hand, I found the people at the front desk to be very helpful. We never had breakfast there, so I can't comment on that.

The location is very convenient to restaurants, etc. I didn't mind that the parking was across the street.

One other possibly large drawback is that the sound insulation is not very good. We could hear every possible noise in the hallway.

The bed was pretty soft and made a lot of noise, and the pillows weren't too good, but that didn't bother me.

It is a former bank that has been converted into a hotel. I really liked the style of the room and the building in general. It has a quirky, modern, retro feel that was much nicer than I expected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l_sf_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is an old turn-of-the-century office building that was turned into a hotel. My room on one of the top floors was amazing. Hardwood floors, large windows, great view, modern and stylish decor. It was like living in a loft. Plus, the location relative to night life establishments is terrific.

Parking was a royal pain however. You have to go to an adjacent parking garage, get a ticket, have the hotel staff endorse it. Plus, the smell of urine in the parking garage hits you like a punch in the face. Breakfast was very inadequate- especially for such an opulent building. This is a small price to pay however, as the room and location were far beyond my expectations!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms offer great views of the city!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayD9340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful historic building close to everything that you would want to walk to. The staff was amazing and helpful especially where the children were concerned. Our room was beautiful, with hardwood floors and maybe 13 foot ceilings. My boys, ages 6 and 8 said they wanted to live there forever because it was "magical". We will stay here again!! The breakfast buffet was perfect too...lots of varieties and delicious coffee.

Room Tip: They have an arcade and pool table on level M...perfect for the kiddos when they got a little squirm...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ada R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Loved the historical bank building with hardwood floors, the use of old and new decor and style, great staff, there is a lot of history and beautiful sights still in Cleveland. The city is definitely progressing and is worth a trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114-3007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $128 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing