We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very nice building with wood floors and classic styling. Unexpected value and service. Can't complain about a single thing (except for drunken neighbors returning noisily at 3am). Front desk and housekeeping were polite and responsive to requests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    333
    106
    29
    35
See reviews for
200
337
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I throughly enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn express. I had orginally wanted a different hotel that was booked up and settled for this one, but I am happy I had the oppurtunity to experience the hotel and I will return if I find myself in Cleveland again.
The hotel is an old bank and so the lobby is set up a bit different. Two podiums for checking in kind of stick out like a sore thumb but the staff was very friendly and check in went quickly. We had requested adjoining rooms and were granted our request.
Our room was great. Large windows, hard wood floors, crisp white bedding and a fresh clean smell. I really loved it, but when I entered my sisters room it did smell of cigerettes and I was surprised how that one thing could entirely change your perception of the hotel. So while I loved my room, I understand how someone who smelled cigerettes on a different post had a different experience on their stay.
The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to progessive field, quicken loans arena and 4th street is just a block away with all it's fun night life.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micheled58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We came for a wedding. The hotel was a disaster from early that morning on. I called at 9:30 that morning because it looked like I had only one room and I had booked two. They assured me that I had two and that they were ready for us whenever we got there. When we got there, it took us half a hour to check in. We only had half an hour left to get to the wedding. My in-laws were given an already occupied room! They had to move all of their things to another room. I am a priority club member and when I asked about the gift bags we are supposed to get, I was told that it was too soon after their reopening. I stayed there two months after they reopened. My in-laws did not have any coffee in their new room. There was an ad for "female entertainers" slipped under our door complete with VERY graphic pictures. All this and we had to beg them to validate our parking. The staff did very little to make up for all the problems. Not a nice stay at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Elizabeth S,

Thank you very much for being a Priority Club Member and for your recent stay with us. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your feedback is very important to us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you have experienced due to the check in process, hotel staff services received and room accommodations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel has a unique check in and tons of history. We had two queen beds on the 10th floor and it was a nice room. High ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, hardwood floors and lots of space. After staying there it was hard to go back to a standard hotel room with not near the room/space. We never heard any hallway noise and it was very quiet. Cons were that there are only two ice machines at the moment, and when an elevator goes out of commission that causes some long wait times. Also, GPS's do not work downtown so it is wise to have an old fashion paper map in hand. This is not the hotel's fault but I wish I had known so I could have been prepared. There is so much concrete and the buildings are so tall that it is hard for a GPS to get a signal.
All in all It was a pleasant stay and I found the front staff to be very helpful, we are sure to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I only stayed for one night, but I had a great stay and I would happily return.

The non-traditional lobby is basically the entry corridor of an old bank/office building, circa 1910. With plenty of marble, high ceilings with painted tin inserts, and other period decoration, it's beautiful. OK, it's a very atypical hotel lobby. I didn't see a single seating area, for example. But the quirky elements of this hotel blend seamlessly with the modern ones to make a great combination.

After taking an elevator to my floor, I was surprised to see original tilework on the floor. Some of it had been overlaid with wood flooring, perhaps in areas where the tile was damaged. It was a nice combination of old and new. The biggest surprise came when I entered my room, with high ceilings (12-13 feet) and hardwood floors. The room was large and had several sets of big windows. Everything in the room was modern and up-to-date.

Overall I was very pleased with the room. I would have liked a mini-safe, but it was well-appointed otherwise. And parking was easy at the garage around the corner. I was able to bill it to my room with in/out privileges.

The breakfast room wasn't easy to find (take the elevator to the mezzanine level, then a staircase down a couple flights). But once there, I was surprised to find a large, two-story space with lots of tables and a stack of newspapers. The food was typical HIE. (The cinnamon rolls are always my favorite.) It was the nicest breakfast room I have encountered at a Holiday Inn Express.

This hotel would be perfectly located for people interested in the downtown theatres and art galleries. I suppose you could walk to a baseball game, or it would be a short taxi ride. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really can't complain about this hotel or the staff. We had a King Room with Jacuzzi on the 12th floor, great view, hardwood floors, fridge in room with a little bar area with sink. Breakfast was okay - maybe a 6 out of 10 considering they had differant types of yogurts and milk - white and chocolate, boiled eggs, cereals, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, pancakes and bananas - (too much time on my hands haha) Within walking distance to the Brown's stadium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Progressive field, casino, restaurants bars.

I would definately recommend this hotel to a friend or family member

Room Tip: Found that the 12th floor had a good view (Room 1205)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestravel1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 2 weekend nights and would recommend this hotel for convenience to the Browns Stadium - easily within walking distance. The entire hotel staff was great, very pleasant, helpful and friendly. We asked to change rooms upon arrival because of the "view" which was the backs of other buildings and the fire escape, we were given another room facing the street which was definitely better! Loved the hardwood floors, room was huge, check-in was easy because we arrived before the crowds. Parking is around the corner and a flat $14 if staying at HIE. I think the hotel has a lot of character and not your cookie-cutter hotel, it is a former bank building with high ceilings and lots of unique decor. One negative, the pillows need updated. I would definitely stay here again if ever in the Cleveland area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank St_MarysLouanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114-3007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing