We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Holiday In Express? REALLY?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Holiday In Express? REALLY?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

This hotel in a converted bank building is a gem in downtown Cleveland. We booked on Hotwire and got a phenomenal rate and were SHOCKED when this room had 15' ceilings, hardwood floors, two queen beds and enough space for a small party. The location is walking to distance to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Lake Erie and an awesom row of restaurants and bars just blocks from the hotel. Newly remodeled and still in process, this property will be the go-to spot for Cleveland-goers in the future!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    340
    110
    29
    36
See reviews for
202
350
40
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Visited Cleveland for the first time, this past week. The Holiday Inn is an old bank renovated into a hotel. HUGE rooms with very nice beds. HOWEVER, with such nice rooms, they need more than just one chair.Excellent location in the downtown core. Excellent service from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lc_collegeprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

This was my second stay at the hotel and I was afraid my high expectations from the first stay would lead me to disappointment. Happily, the staff were just as friendly, the room was clean and lovely and my stay was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindadavrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel seems highly underrated to me. We’ve stayed twice now and both times we’ve receive extremely friendly, helpful service and the rooms are spotless! The hardwood floors are a wonderful touch and the rooms are quite large and spacious. We booked a room with a Jacuzzi and it was wonderful to relax in during the evening. I love all the old architecture in the building, it is truly unique. The one room we stayed in even had a great half circle window that overlooked the city (we were 13 floors up). The hotel is within walking distance to some great restaurants and bars as well as the Sailors and Soldiers monument and the old arcade, which are wonderful site seeing spots. If you need to park a car, the parking garage is right around the corner. You just have the front desk stamp your ticket when you come in or before you leave, and there is always someone there to help you. There is also a complimentary breakfast which is standard, but appreciated. When we return to Cleveland this will definitely be our go to spot. The value is absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inferno2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of family. I was promptly greeted by the front desk staff. My room was ready when I checked in. The place was immaculate. I had one of the higher floor rooms and had outstanding views of the city. The bed was comfy. The room was cleaned while I was out during the day. Breakfast at the hotel had a lot of options to choose from. The only downside that I saw was that the breakfast room is difficult to get to with luggage. The front desk staff offered assistance with getting to area attractions. The hotel is within walking distance to everything in Cleveland and it felt relatively safe for being in a city. I would stay here again if I travel through Cleveland again. There is a bank connected to the hotel lobby that reminds me of the one in Mary Poppins. There is a restaurant in the hotel lobby with good food if you're not interested in the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowergirl3785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I liked this hotel so much I even wrote a complementary letter to the company. The staff was incredibly helpful--which is rare for hotels both in America and especially in Cleveland. (I grew up near Cleveland, so I can say that.) Because I was a member of their hotel group, I got to spin a wheel, which yielded such prizes as 10% off, a free hotel room, or an upgrade. We got the upgrade and were booked into an executive suite, which was spacious and lovely. We were there for the Rite Aid Marathon as well, so the hot tub was a huge bonus. When we go back next May, I'll definitely be staying at the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Become a member. It's free amd you get to spin a wheel for great prizes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Cleveland and there was a large 2 INCH COCKROACH in our room at 2am!!! The hotel sent a security guard to kill the roach but obviously we could not sleep all night!!!!!! The hotel would only return the points I used for the hotel room and that is it!!! I tried calling guest relations and they said that is all they could do!! AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!!! DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buffalo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114-3007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing