We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Stay - Great for games” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
ny, ny
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good Stay - Great for games”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Good hotel. Old building, but clean big rooms. Walk to all stadiums, bars, restaurants, and museams - mass transit right outside.

Parking was fine in public garage around corner where hotel reserves spaces. Area gets desolate quick after the bars close and some interesting characters come out - but unless you plan on being walking around at 2 or 3am this wouldnt be an issue.

Compimentary breakfast was just fine, with plenty of seats and papers available in big room with windows overlooking the street. Free internet also big plus.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samdogNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    327
    105
    29
    34
See reviews for
197
330
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

the hotel rooms were nice and spacious and it had a nice breakfast that was included. Everything other than that was horrible. i did not get into my room until 6pm. i arrived there at 4. the customer service was horrible. there credit card machine was down so they had to manually write all my info down. the next morning i received a call from the front desk informing me that they lost all my credit card info and needed me to bring my card back down. my room was supposed to be 109 plus tax. they ended up charging me over 200. i called they said they took care of it. when they actually double charged me again. the managers do not return phone calls and i'm still trying to get the extra $150 they charged my card 2 1/2 weeks later. i would never ever return.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank all4avarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express overnight on the 5th of April. We reserved the room on Hotwire for a VERY reasonable amount. We stayed in Cleveland because we went to the Charlie Sheen tour. We arrived in Cleveland about a half of an hour too late so we had to rush. Check in was quick and they called taxi for us while we dropped our belongings off at the room. The hotel is connected to the historic National City Bank so it has an old feel but no worries because it is up-to-date and I think they are in the process of renovating. We ended up in room 903. It was a corner room with 2 large windows. The floors were hardwood that appeared to be either new or resurfaced. It has been a while since my girlfriend didn't feel grossed out from walking on a hotels floor. There was also a separate area with a desk and nice sized closet. We didn't know this but there is also a couple of pool tables located on the way downstairs on the way down to the breakfast area. The complimentary breakfast was just OK but still pretty good. I'd recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a reasonable, clean, hotel that is in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OHTransplant3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night after a Lake Erie Monsters game and had a horrible night.

The rooms were reasonably clean and the high ceilings are lovely but other than that this hotel was a huge let down and not worth $150 per night.

There was a party going on next door and even after multiple calls to security it did not quiet down. The partiers even rattled and banged on our door after one call to the front desk so we were actually scared to call again.

After a sleepless night I tried to address the issue with the front desk staff and was met with indifference, they were too disinterested to do anything. After pressing for information, I was given the manager's name and extension; however, trying to get in touch with her was a joke. I finally spoke with her only after sending an email to corporate. The manager listened to my complaint and promised to call back the next day, two weeks later, I'm still waiting.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone; downtown Cleveland has many more places from which to choose.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller/reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Cleveland for the past 2 years. We love the architecture, rooms are accommodating, staff is friendly. Location is downtown and walking distance to great eating spots.

Tip - ask for a King Size room on the top floor. Rooms are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in late Oct. 2010. The in room coffee pot was dirty and we had to request blankets because there were no comforters on the beds. But the worst was being woken very early Sunday morning to the sound of a fire alarm and a man's voice repeating "Testing" over the speaker in the room! When we called the front desk, the operator told us it wasn't the hotel. When we checked out, we brought this up. No help (but the desk clerk did say it was the hotel's fire alarm test). Asked to speak with a manager, there wasn't one on duty. Called the manager and left a message, didn't receive a call back. Filled out an online survey. Got a call from the manager who said she would look into the matter and get back with us. Didn't hear back. Sent an email to customer care. Never heard back. Do not stay at this hotel if good customer service is important to you!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrsbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

On my trip to Cleveland, I stayed at two hotels - Here and the Renaissance Hotel. The first night, I stayed at the renaissance because they offered a package with the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame, and it just looked nicer than all the other hotels. After checking in here, I wish I would've just sucked it up and stayed the extra night there, because $40 difference is not that much if I can stay in a place that's ten times better than here.

Ok, now I don't want you to think that I went into this expecting this to be an AMAZING hotel or something...I just thought it would be an average Holiday Inn Express experience. It was actually pretty weird...

The room that we got was weird...super huge and "spacious," but too much. I felt like the king sized bed was drowning in the open space of the room - toss a couple of couches in there!! Our windows looked directly into an office, which was sort of expected, but still awkward. And...there was a window in our shower that looked into the room? What? Very strange...However, the depth of the jacuzzi tub was nice. The other thing about the room was that the heater sounded like someone breaking down the door every half hour or so...SO loud!

Elevators were super scary! Very small, and we avoided the one in the middle left because of the terrifying sounds that were coming out of it - creaking, groaning, etc.

"Free internet" was pretty lame - couldn't hold a signal on my iPod touch at all, and the "business center" was an old computer in the breakfast area.

The service, however, was great! The woman at the front desk allowed us to check in SUPER early (11am/noon!), and helped us when we discovered that apparently no restaurants are open in Cleveland on Sunday (exaggeration, but still...) They were all generally helpful.

I don't know. If I were coming back to Cleveland, I would spend the extra $40 to stay somewhere else. I was disappointed in the room for how expensive it was. It's a $30 hotel room in downtown Cleveland, which means they can up the price to $140. Way overpriced for a dingy little place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmariecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114-3007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing