We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, but disorganized”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is located right among the sports venues and the great downtown restaurants and bars, and a couple of blocks from the casino. Our rooms were comfortable and clean, and the beds were great. We had a large block of rooms for a wedding. For ourselves, we had a suite with a small fridge, and it was perfect for entertaining a big group of friends and family and for the bride to dress in. The hotel staff was friendly, but something about the reservation and room management system is definitely amiss. We had reserved a suite, but when we arrived were told there wasn't one for us. I overheard the front desk staff say that there was one that had no television in it and I asked to take that one, but otherwise I don't think it would have been offered. The bride's grandmother was given the key to a room that was already occupied by strangers, the groom's family had to wait until quite late for their rooms to be cleaned . . . and others in our party encountered similar glitches. However, once we were in them, the rooms were fine, and the housekeeping staff was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the staff compliments. We apologize for the room confusion and changes. We are working to improve our team services and organization with several new members in training. We will use your comments with our front desk to improve and sharpen their hospitality skills.

thank you,
The Rad Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 928 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location as we went to the baseball game. We parked our car in the parking ramp next to the hotel when we arrived and then walked to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the casino, restaurants, and the ball park.

We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel...it was good. Our room (701) was spacious, clean and comfortable, quiet.

We had a great time in Cleveland..enjoyed the game (go Tigers!) and the perfect location of the hotel. Go and enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttons1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overall this seems like a decent hotel, but there were so many little instances of sloppiness and poor service I came away with a bad impression of the hotel, like they were sloppy and didn't really care about the customer's experience. First of all, the only parking is valet, which is kind of obnoxious. We got in very late and had to scramble to figure out a way to park without paying an exorbitant cost we didn't need. We planned to sleep in, but there was no "Do Not Disturb" door hanger in the room. I called and requested one but it was never brought up, so I had to borrow one from the maid's cart. There was an already-opened bar of soap in the tub, and the internet was spotty and somewhat confusing. Overall the rooms were fine, no problem. It was a little noisy outside, but that's not the hotel's fault. So it wasn't terrible, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your travel opinion, we apologize for the room issues and will utilize your comments to strive for excellence in guest satisfaction with our guest services team. In regards to parking, unfortunately all we offer is valet, we do not own a parking lot and must rent spaces. Self park is available at various parking lots close to our hotel, but the difficulty is a sporting event are happening the pricing is not the greatest. We always encourage guests to valet, as its the easiest to utilize.

with hospitality,
Juan G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We just got back from Cleveland. We went for the Tigers vs Indians game (which was a great game!).

We stayed at this hotel, and despite the bad reviews I read, the hotel was really nice. We arrived in town early, and we were able to check in around 1pm, which was really nice. Derron checked us in, he was very nice and helpful. The room was a good size, it was clean, updated, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is super close to Progressive Field, it was just a short walk there and also to the local bars on the same street. It was a decent price for the hotel/parking considering it is right in downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggsAndJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were visiting Cleveland for a ballgame and loved the location to the ballpark. It was literally right across the street. The customer service at the hotel was lacking a bit and the rooms need a dramatic make over. The sleep number beds were awful and if you didn't try and sleep in the middle you would roll off the bed. I would consider staying at another hotel if I could find one as close as this is to the ballpark that is the only reason I would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIsaWe185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your business and value our guest opinions. We do plan several upgrades to our hotel later this year with building a new restaurant, guest room furniture and beds. In regards to customer service, we will focus with our staff in their training sessions to always strive for excellence in guest satisfaction.

with hospitality,
The RAD Gateway Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We made a spur of the moment decision to hit Cleveland to see a Tigers' game. Found a good rate on Expedia and booked sight unseen. Everything was perfect from the clean, comfortable, quiet room to the easy acces to Progressive Field and local bars and restaurants. Best of all the Tigers took game 1! Good value and great location.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Washington_DcSrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We appreciate your business and posting a guest review. We are in the heart of the city and easy to navigate the sports venues in our area. We will get those Tigers on the next trip!!!!
Go Tribe :>)

all the best!
Juan- G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Arrived at the Radisson a bit before 8:00p and walked into a nice lobby, however, there was no one at the front desk. After waiting a minute or so, two pleasant desk clerks entered through a door and worked together to check us in. The elevators were very slow. This was something we noticed throughout our stay. The room was nice enough and fairly clean. I’m a stickler about bathroom cleanliness and finding a couple hairs from the previous occupant, didn't thrill me. Also the pink stain around the drain in the bathtub looked like mold. The bathroom was small and had an odd angle at the door way, which made the room a bit cramped. It also had a split toilet seat, which I find uncomfortable. We called and requested some extra towels and then went out to find a restaurant for dinner.

A few hours later the towels hadn't arrived, so we called again. This time they were delivered soon after. I had been excited to try a sleep number bed, as we are looking to replace our mattress. It may have been just a bad or overly used mattress, but you could feel the baffles inside no matter which setting it was on. And when I set my side and then my husband set his, I checked mine again and it had changed.

The next morning it was nice to be able to make a cup of coffee right there in the room. We had the breakfast downstairs, and it was very good. That evening we went to a ball game. This hotel is so convenient for that. In fact we had a nice view of the park from our room.

Did this hotel hit a home run with us? No. But it wasn't bad for a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesMist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for the travel opinion. We appreciate our guest feedback and utilize these comments to always strive for excellence in guest satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit to downtown Cleveland.

sincerely,
Juan G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#17 of 38 in Cleveland
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Cleveland at Playhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Address: 651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $111 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Plaza Hotel Cleveland – Gateway, a newly renovated boutique style hotel, is located in the heart of the Gateway District, a step away from Q-Arena and Progressive Field. Take in some of Cleveland’s finest dining, entertainment and shopping in the new “hip” East 4th Street district… all just a short walk from our door. You’ll love our “Yes, I Can” hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway Ohio
Radisson Hotel Gateway
Radisson Cleveland
Cleveland Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing