We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine accomodations, helpful, courteous and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fine accomodations, helpful, courteous and friendly staff”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My stay was punctuated by pleasant surprises all the way through. Sleep Number beds in the rooms, helpful suggestions from proud local staff, and beautiful accomodations. The location may just be the best in Cleveland, across from the Baseball Stadium, QL Arena, and plenty of local nightlife/restaurants. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    274
    150
    87
    65
See reviews for
227
261
37
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A short hop, skip and step to the QL arena, decent "free" breakfast but the coffee strong and bitter, convenient $20 valet parking but they didn't warm up the engine for us, free Internet. I didn't enjoy the $1.70 charge for each local call made due to lost cell phone. I would definitely stay here again due to convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the travel review. We appreciate your business and value the guest feedback. Mentioning the close area to all the local attraction is helpful to all individuals seeking a hotel in downtown Cleveland. We very close to all the main attractions within downtown, 1 block from Progressive Field, 3 blocks from the casino and directly across the street from the Q arena. We look forward to your next visit to downtown.

with hospitality,
The RAD Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is my second time staying in this hotel, I stayed once about 5 years ago and remembered it being great so we came back. We went to a basketball game so in my opinion this was the only option as it's directly across the street. I accidentally booked my reservation for the wrong day and the staff there was so easy to work with about switching the date at no extra charge. When we checked in, everyone was nice and apologetic for the wait. The room itself was the only disappointment and unfortunately that's the only thing that should matter when staying in a hotel? Our TV remote only worked if you pushed the buttons really hard, I assume it was just a battery issue and we weren't going to be watching much TV so that wasn't a big deal but when we used the buttons on the actual monitor, you had to push crazy hard to change the channel on there as well, and there are like 4 hotel information channels you have to scoot past before you can get to anything.
I was particularly excited for the sleep number beds and when we laid down to go to sleep the remote wasn't working, so I called the front desk. She told me to hold the button really hard and it eventually started to go down. The problem I had was that it went down too far and I couldn't get it back up so it was like sleeping on a deflated air mattress. This room was not for someone with arthritis or anything haha.
I totally could have looked past both of those if it weren't for the fact that the hotel itself is just extremely noisy. Both my brother and I tossed and turned all night--every thing was so loud it woke us up, and we're not light sleepers. Every time the heat kicked on, every time the room above us used any water in their bathroom, even the general traffic from outside. Maybe I'm just getting to an age where I can't sleep well outside of my own bed but this was by far my worst sleep episode haha. It made our drive back home really tough. But I slept like a sack of potatoes in my own bed the next night!

Like I said--the staff is fantastic, it's a perfect location, I'll probably stay here again, I think we just were the unlucky ones who were dealt a not-so-great room for one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buffalojk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you look for specials, you can get a decent room with breakfast and free valet parking here for under 150.00. The hotel is right across from the Q Arena and very close to Progressive Field. In fact, the House of Blues is just around the corner and Nautica is quite close, too. We like to head up to Cleveland early before a game, park and check in, then go off for dinner. After the game, we can bar hop till we drop and walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ardeasnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the travel review, we appreciate your feedback. Your opinion matter to our hotel, we strive for superior guest service. The comments written are spot on! We are the ideal location to the Q arena, Progressive Field and several other entertainment venues. Just stay, park and your on your way to play in downtown Cleveland.

with hospitality,
Juan- G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On The Road
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was a little nervous about staying at this property due to some of the reviews on here from other travelers - but WOW I was so impressed with this property!

I parked at a meter to check in because I was headed out for a work meeting shortly after check in. Parking at the property is a bit of challenge - you either pay $20 for valet or you pay $7.50... OR $10 (if there is an event going on). If you pay for Valet you can come and go....with tipping the valet.... but otherwise, you are going to pay in and out of the garage across the street... OR next door. The garage across the street is cheaper for DAYTIME parking, but you cannot park in that garage overnight. So if you are parking and staying on foot for the duration of your stay - you have to park in the garage next to the hotel.

The rooms are very nice - simple, clean, and with a local flavor in the art.

The shower is the brightest hotel shower I have ever been in - it has reflective lighting in the ceiling just outside the shower that really lights up the shower by reflecting off the white ceiling.

The bathroom was very clean and well stocked with towels and amenities.

I loved the reading lights on the lamps - the alarm clock was great (iPod Dock). And then they have the Sleep Beats feature which has great sleepy music stored in the clock, and plays with just the touch of a button!

The rooms are equipped with Sleep Number beds. This is the second property I have visited that was equipped with Sleep Number beds- and I have to say, while they are extremely comfortable.... the remote never seems to work properly. You have to put every ounce of force in to the button to get the darned thing to adjust! If ALL Sleep Number beds work this way, I would never own one!

The high speed internet access was great, and very easy to access. The speed was fantastic - and it didn't disconnect once.

I would definitely stay here again, and would suggest it to others!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with a great view... you really won't find it here. The hotel isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your travel review, we appreciate the feedback for all travelers to read. Your comments on parking are spot on; we always reccommend and want our guests to park valet, if you plan on going in/out while driving in the city.
We look forward to seeing on your next visit to the city of Cleveland.

sincerely,
Juan- G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is absolutely awesome. I have stayed here many a time & will continue to do so.

First, the location is impeccable. You can even drive right up & have valet take your car for $20. Across the street is the Q, Progressive Field, and up the street are great restaurants & pubs. My favorite is to walk right up the sidewalk to the Winking Lizard. You are simply minutes from Tower City, the Wolstein Center, and the House of Blues, literally in the heart of town.

And yet, when you get into your hotel room, it is as quiet as can be. Large rooms provide plenty of space & sleep number beds offer quality sleep. The only downside here? No pool. But what do you expect? You're in the middle of a great city.

One more quality item to mention: if you are a member of the United Church of christ, mention that to the front desk for a discount. Since the UCC national offices are attached to the building, they offer this fantastic opportunity to take a little more off your bill. And join their upgrade club--free.

Great place to stay; highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Kim, thank you for the travel review. We appreciate the opinion and look forward to your next visit and earning a loyal customer. You wrote it all! We are in the heart of all the action the city of Cleveland offers; great for business stays with easy location to access meetings; walking to the best in entertainment, sports, dine, music, sites, etc...

with hospitality,
The RAD team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

It was a great Valentine's day get-away. Staying in Cleveland but it felt like Cancun. Clean rooms, extremely friendly service and we even got room service which was delicious. For the price we paid, it was the perfect small retreat. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the nice travel review. We are an ideal hotel, in the heart of downtown that features the best location for business and entertainment. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit to downtown Cleveland.

thank you,
Radisson Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#19 of 38 in Cleveland
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Property: Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
Address: 651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Plaza Hotel Cleveland – Gateway, a newly renovated boutique style hotel, is located in the heart of the Gateway District, a step away from Q-Arena and Progressive Field. Take in some of Cleveland’s finest dining, entertainment and shopping in the new “hip” East 4th Street district… all just a short walk from our door. You’ll love our “Yes, I Can” hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway Ohio
Radisson Hotel Gateway
Radisson Cleveland
Cleveland Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing