We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel unless there is a game in town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
leldel@optonline.net
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel unless there is a game in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Rooms need much improvement for sound insulation. When there is a football game or basketball game in town. Many people continue the partying in the hotel once the game is over.

If there is no game, its a excellant spot, clean, affordable near the Rock & Roll Hall of fame and other attractions. Good selection of restaurants and bars in the area also.

Room Tip: Higher Floors to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    218
    112
    68
    54
See reviews for
170
201
30
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great price, convenient location (especially if going to The Q, Progressive Field, Palace Theatre, etc.) and most importantly CLEAN! Check in/check out was a breeze. Didn't really eat at the hotel, just the buffet breakfast and it was fine for the cost of only $9.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel51013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We recently attended a concert at the Q Arena & booked a room at the Radisson Gateway, due to the loacation, a short walk away. We read reviews on the hotel, largely mixed, but were pleasantly surprised. We found the room to be well above par, clean & comfortable. Since we have a Select Comfort bed at home & love it this too was a plus. Overall a great stay. we didn't dine at the hotel but there are plenty of good reasaurants within walking distance. Great little diner, P.J's at the Colonial Marketplace around the block for breakfest. Good bargain for downtown as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We attended the MAC tourney at the Q, and our staying in Cleveland was dependent on our team winning their game, which they did, so I took to Hotwire and booked a room, and we were fortunate that it was at the Radisson, which is right across the street from the Q. We didn't get to the hotel until after 11:30, so by the time we got there, we ended up with a room with 2 double beds, which was fine and our own fault. The room was nice, though there were some iron-shaped melt marks in the carpet. The beds were sleep-number beds and were very comfortable. I appreciated the counter space in the bathroom, but I continue to wonder why hotels never have exhaust fans.
The OU pep band came in behind us and were waiting for the elevators with their instruments. The woman at the front desk was really nice, and she looked at the bandmembers and then back to us and told us to let her know if there were any disturbances. We had no problems, but it was nice that she made it known they wouldn't put up with any shenanigans.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlleyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We ordered good seats for a Cavs game and I found this hotel right across the street from the stadium. It was so nice to go to a game and walk back across the street after the game was over. Also, we were within walking distance of the 4th Street night life where we found good food and beer.

I was looking forward to the advertised sleep number beds. The first night it didn't work and the bed was rock hard. The next day it worked and it was much better. I liked the idea of determining the softness of my bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disney, Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This worked great for our purpose. (going to Cavs game). The hotel is right across from the stadium. There is also a Residence Inn within walking distance, but I don't know the reviews of that place. The Radisson was just an ok place. No one was going to go out of their way to be helpful, but it wasn't all that necessary. Eventually, we were able to get a cot because a double room wasn't available, so that was nice.
Bad: No early check-in. In fact, it was 4:15 and we still didn't have a room available. They did hold our bags for us while we went to eat. Cleaning crew hadn't gotten it done yet they said. Not really apologetic either. Tried to get wireless, but didn't tell me it had to be all small letters, so I never was able to get on. Sleep number bed didn't work. Place wasn't the cleanest, but if you don't expect this to be anywhere near a 4* you shouldn't be too disappointed. Valet parking was $20 in/out. No thanks. We got there on a Sunday and left Monday (Presidents Day). There was plenty of parking around (granted we were there a couple of hours before Cavs game started) on the streets. Was able to keep meters running no problems. Manager told me meters started at 8 am, but not completely sure. I've read they started at 7. Regardless, it wasn't an issue. There was not anybody out writing tickets when we were there. No pool. Didn't check out other amenities, everything is kind of cramped and difficult to find unless you look it up.
Good: Location for our purpose could not have been better. Literally.Same would be true for Indians game which is just next to the Quicken Loans Arena.
Didn't try food there. Went down up the block to Panini's for a really greasy $13 large pizza that fed our family of 6 cheaply. They also had $6.50 sandwiches or individual slice pizzas.Other restaurants around, a few had signs out front saying "Kids eat free", but , but didn't see that until after we left. Breakfast in the morning. Coffee in the lobby and newspapers. Didn't try the hotel breakfast. Wouldn't suggest it if you have time. Just behind the hotel (Prospect St?) is the Residence Inn. Just south of the Residence Inn is a Marketplace. Go into the marketplace and find PJ's. Good, very reasonably priced and very friendly breakfast place. Only one within walking distance. I think they open at 5 am. $4 omelet or $3 for a meal, etc...Real friendly crew. Got hotel for $65 + tax on priceline.
Overall, not the nicest place in the world, but don't have your hopes too high. If you want to go to the Q or Indians game, fear not, this place will do the job.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbygayle65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Room size was ok for a regular room
room seemed to be clean
bathroom tub was gross...... not sure what was growing at the drain and didn't want to find out
bed was a select comfort which was ok
self parking across the street cost $9 for the night
we paid $76 hotwire........ not sure I'd I'll ever do that again
there are better choices downtown

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tig2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Property: Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
Address: 651 Huron Rd E, Cleveland, OH 44115-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Plaza Hotel Cleveland – Gateway, a newly renovated boutique style hotel, is located in the heart of the Gateway District, a step away from Q-Arena and Progressive Field. Take in some of Cleveland’s finest dining, entertainment and shopping in the new “hip” East 4th Street district… all just a short walk from our door. You’ll love our “Yes, I Can” hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway Ohio
Radisson Hotel Gateway
Radisson Cleveland
Cleveland Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing