We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wow!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had never been to Cleveland. My expectations of the town were, quite frankly, on the low side.
I was pleasantly surprised by the entire city.
It started with our stay at Residence Inn downtown.
We were in town to visit a relative at the Cleveland Clinic. (What a wonderful facility, by the way).
Needed a place to stay and had no reservation. I ended up at the Residence Inn. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful! Every single person we dealt with were so genuinely nice.
The facility is one of the greatest surprises we have experienced. The room was outstanding. On of my favorite configurations of space that I've experienced. Large living area with "sqareness" to it. Loved the roominess and the ammenities.
The entire hotel reaks of history. The kind of quaintness and class that cannot be built today.
Windows and trim, high ceilings, decor, out of this world.
Breakfast room was amazing. The entire experience was just fantastic.
I would go out of my way to go back to this wonderful friendly hotel located in the middle of a wonderfully friendly city! Go!

Room Tip: Staff was really helpful with parking. They helped us park in the employee lot, and just made every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdgrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    200
    59
    26
    8
See reviews for
123
159
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed last evening at the Residence Inn in Dwntwn Cleveland and were blown away. The location is great for shops & restaurants. And the staff is fabulous. We were greeted happily and taken great care of by Angela at the desk, chatted with Bill about the history of the beautiful building and greeted warmly by Darius at midnight (always blown away by ppl that are full of life while working at midnight). The most amazing part of our experience was this lovely old building and all of the charms that came with it. It was built years ago & renovated in early 2000 (all staff members we came in contact w/ told us a bit about its history & with genuine pride). The breakfast area w/ its stained glass ceiling, the antique pieces of furniture thoroughout the building, our spacious room (that was meticulously mantained) with huge ceiling to floor windows. The employees and ownership of this property obviously take great pride in their product and should be commended, because it is beautiful. Had never been to Cleveland but this visit has made us a fans. Thank you Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for several dining options.
I stayed in the Euclid Tower, and the walk is too long in my opinion. It would be fine if there was an entrance/exit at that end of the hotel, but they do not offer that option.
The room was great. It was old, but very clean, and the high ceilings and large rooms were a great change from the normal hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here twice in two weeks and had a pleasant experience both times. The place is unique given the history of the building and somewhat awkward layout. If staying in the Euclid towers you walk above the arcade in order to get to the rooms. However, the character of the building holds appeal to history buffs.

The rooms are spacious and both that I stayed in were clean and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and accommodating.

I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ma_usmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our stay was only for one night, but the staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. The rooms were of good size, and clean. The building is older, and if you stay in the Euclid Tower section , it is far away from the front desk, but not unmanageable.
This was a great value for a hotel in this location-- within walking distance to Progressive field, many great restaurants, the casino, and the RTA Red Line.
I would stay here again, based on the price, location, and service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
196 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband, teenage son, and I stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown Cleveland for one night at the end of September. We called earlier that day for late a check-in since we were visiting a college with my son. We were told that it wasn’t a problem and our room was confirmed for the night.

When we arrived at about 10 PM, Angela greeted us with a smile and complimentary beverages. Both were much appreciated since we were very tired having just flown in from Honolulu that day and then spent the day touring and meeting with professors of Washington and Jefferson College in the Pittsburgh area. We reserved a basic room, but were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite since we are Marriott Gold members. The two-bedroom suite was VERY spacious with an apartment-like kitchen and each bedroom has its own bath. This was great because we didn’t have to share a bathroom with our teenage son! I also liked that the shampoo, condition, and lotion was Paul Mitchell and not some generic stuff.

The dining room was very pretty with stain glass and flower-etched windows. They served a nice buffet breakfast consisting of coffee, tea (including herbal tea), juice, and hot chocolate, cold cereals, oatmeal, waffle makings, English muffins, bagels, pastries, bananas, apples, chopped pineapple, yogurts, potato patties, scrambled eggs, sausage patties. My husband and son declared the potato patties to be delicious.

Check-in and parking were a little unique since you only pull over in front of the hotel by a sidewalk-like area to unload your luggage. There is no pull-in. After you check-in, you then are permitted to park in the garage.

I really liked the feel of this hotel. It was a lovely historic hotel with beautiful antique molding. The elevators are smaller and it can be a little bit of a maze, but that’s part of its historic charm. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KailuaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel very clean and convenient. One of the better Hotels I have stayed in lately. Many restaurants in the vicinity of the Hotel. Short drive to attractions that we had visited. All hotels employees I had come across were polite and professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#19 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing