We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Downtown property, historic building, close to sports venues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Downtown property, historic building, close to sports venues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Typical Marriott Residence Inn offering but in a unique historic building that has been renovated. Extremely friendly staff and very close to Jacobs Field and Quicken Arena as well as a nice entrtainment district just steps away. Rooms are very large and comfortable although the age of the building is apparent. Nice, large reception area providing a complete manager's reception (dinner) and breakfast. The only issue is a very small parking garage that requires a good driver to maneuver. Pleasant stay and always fun to be in this area, especially on game day..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    193
    57
    25
    8
See reviews for
114
146
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I booked a room at the Residence Inn downtown the night of the Madonna concert in Cleveland, so it was a very busy dtime at the hotel. I had read on TA that the main complaint was the parking situation. We arrived at 4:15, and sure enough, the parking garage for the hotel was full! They told us to park across the street. Unbeleiveably, the attendant across the street told us the hotel would be reimbursing up our full cost for parking in that lot. (which was 31.00),
We checked in very easily. When I signed the policy stating that we were only allowed three people in a one bedroom suite, and I told them I had booked it for four, they told me I would be in a two bedroom. Bonus!!!! We were upgraded for no cost. We stayed on the 4th floor, and we loved the feel of the old halls. We were tucked way in the back, and our suite was huge!!! We had two bedrooms and two baths. It was very clean. It could be updated a little, but it was fine!!! We had high ceilings and tons of space!!!
We went down to the breakfast buffet the next morning, and there was a great variety of items and the food was good, not great. I was very impressed with this hidden Marriott that I have never stayed at!! Customer service was great!!! Even candy for the Madonna show!!

Room Tip: Our room was in the back of the building and was large, but not many windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgrl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a very old building in douwtown Cleveland. The beds are uncomfortable, the bathrooms are small with dirty vents. The carpeting looked and smelled very old. The breakfast buffet was average. We will not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were driving across the States and decided to stop in Cleveland to see a baseball game. We deffinately picked a perfect hotel for that as it is within a couple of blocks from Progressive Field ball park. The hotel lay out was interesting. The building was older because of the architecture, which I loved. We stayed in end unit of the hotel so the room was large and had an elaborate window up high in the room. It was a bit of a walk to the room but an interesting walk as it like a courtyard with little shops below. The free breaksfast was excellent and the breakfast area was a big well appointed room, looking over the courtyard or Cleveland. This hotel was definately good bang for your buck.

Room Tip: We had the end room which was older style room (not bad, just unique), it looks like the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was great for a weekend in Cleveland. So close to the baseball and basketball venues. A block from the Casino and around the corner are some excellent restaurants and bars such as a Bowling Alley and bar so you can have a martini while you bowl. La Strada and my favorite place Michael Symon's Lola Bistro! The rooms are nice with full kitchens and the staff is nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the Euclid Tower vs. Prospect Tower if you can. We had a view of the inside of the Arcade so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here overnight with my two daughters the weekend of August 25-26 for a Indians/Yankees ballgame. The location to Progressive Field(about 5 min. walk), Quicken Arena(across the street) and Casino is excellent. Also very centrally located to restaurants,bars,pubs and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. My only complaint is the parking situation as the hotel lot was already full when we arrived at 1p.m. and had to pay $30 for parking overnight in the lot across the street. It would be great if Marriott could reach some type of arrangement for discount price for hotel guests. The room was spacious,clean and king bed was comfy and kitchen area was well stocked but did not use it as it was only an overnight stay. The comp. buffet breakfast was adequate with the usual breakfast type foods eggs,toast,bagels,cereal,self waffle maker,fresh fruit juice etc. and the eating area was large and clean with plenty of food. I would also like to give a shout out to the staff especially the front desk (sorry can't remember names) who were very friendly and accommodating to our needs and questions that we had. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting the Cleveland area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for a girls concert wknd. Booked w reward points was happily surprised w 2 bdrm/2bath suite. Not grand but very functional. We didn't mind the long walk 2 our room because we didn't hear a peep. We got lucky and got a parking spot and never moved the car. Oh and the staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wearycollegemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Address: 527 Prospect Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44115-1113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing