We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just spent another great weekend stay at this downtown Marriott property. We were very impressed again, with the size of the room and the friendliness of the staff. The four of us were very comfortable in our 2 king bed suite, with a small kitchen available for lunch and evening snacks. Everything was within walking distance for us, as we attended The MAC basketball championship games. Within a 5 minute walk, I'm guessing one could be at 15 different bar/restaurants. My wife and I made it down to the hot complimentary breakfast each morning. The decor is old and historic. We loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Larger suite rooms are in the back or on the Euclid side of hotel, with having to make a decent walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gorockets2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 535 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

My hubby and I stayed here this past weekend for a quick getaway. We got an excellent rate on a King suite w/ a fireplace. It was super-cozy and included a kitchenette. First off the staff were extremely friendly and informative, giving us options if we decided to venture out. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable; so much so that we overslept. The only downside was the hotel’s décor…VERY dated, idk why but the hallways reminded me of the halls from the movie “The Shining”. Also you we had to walk a distance to get to our room. Other than those two concerns, our stay was excellent. We were also able to a park on the street, free! We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a room by the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bu2fusul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown Cleveland for one night. We were impressed with the historic charm, the great location with many great restaurants just steps away, and very friendly staff. We checked in early, and a room was ready and waiting for us. Our room was in the Euclid Tower across the arcade from the main lobby. It was a bit of a walk from the lobby to our room, but we didn’t mind at all, as the stroll allowed us to take in the old-world charm of the arcade, the marble floors, and the gargoyles left over from the original Continental Hotel days.

After finding our room, the keycards did not work and we were worried that we’d have to trek back to the lobby with our luggage to resolve it. Fortunately, there was a very kind housekeeper on our floor who overheard our troubles, and immediately stepped in to take our cards to the desk and have them activated. We regrettably didn’t catch her name, but she showed impeccable customer service, and we are grateful. Another gentleman on staff heard us oohing and aahing at the stained glass in the building, and took the time to stop and explain the history of the hotel, which we appreciated.

The free hot breakfast provided a great spread, in a fantastic dining room with more historic charm. There were many parts of the hotel that we simply didn’t have the time to take advantage of (a billiard room, onsite laundry, two fitness center options). Also, though we didn’t take our dog with us this time, it’s nice to know that pets are welcome here.

While our room was quite clean & comfortable—and offered more than we needed for our short stay—our only complaint was that our room happened to be just across the hall from the elevator, and it was noisy. As we stayed on a weekend night, we clearly heard the voices of people coming onto the floor from the surrounding bars and restaurants, and the ‘ding’ of the elevator. If you’re looking for a quieter experience, request a room further down the hall.

Other than that, we were wholly satisfied that we got our money's worth with our experience. The hotel was installing wireless internet in all guestrooms the week we were there, which will be another great amenity for short-term and long-term leisure and business travelers alike. We'll look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajoto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My family stayed here twice while our daughter underwent treatment at the Cleveland Clinic. You could not ask for a more caring, compassionate staff than at the Residence Inn. This was so helpful during a challenging time. The hotel itself is nice, and very convienient to the hospital, but the staff sets this hotel apart from all others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel when taking our sons to a Cavs game. We read mostly positive reviews, but two areas that were criticized was the parking garage and layout. Upon checking out this morning, I told my wife I needed to weigh in... We had a great experience. It was mentioned that the parking spaces in the garage were small. I guess they drove an 18-wheeler. Our minivan fit fine - it was like every parking garage I've ever parked in.
The second complaint was that the hotel layout is confusing. I agree, but it's important to note that this hotel is in a historic building... if you want a cookie-cutter layout, don't stay downtown, stay near a strip mall or the airport!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BGSUClarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My room left a lot to be desired. The toilet ran periodically all night, The walls are thin (could hear the people next door), and one of the side table lights did not work. The plus side is it is very near 4th street.

Much prefer the Marriott Key Center or even the Renaissance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lronn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We booked two rooms for the weekend of January 14th watch the OSU-Michigan Hockey Game...fun day/night. The rooms were on the third floor and Room 362 was a real gem! A very large suite with two king size beds and the other room (358) was the more normal size. The only caution I would note is that these rooms are far away from the elevator and these rooms require a short walk up about 8 steps to access. The Marriott staff gave us a late (2:00 pm) checkout which we asked about when we checked in. The area is fun, close to lots of good restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: If you like an extra large one bedroom with two king beds away from most of the noise, go for Room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44115-1113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $170 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing