We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location, quality, value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Bokeelia, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Location, quality, value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I don't get to Cleveland all too often, but when I do I like to stay at the Residence Inn Downtown. The hotel is well situated to 4th Street dining and the Q-Center. This is not a new building, so you will be treated to tall ceilings and doors, old world architecture, and charm. The drawback is the never ending hallways and the minimal application of elevators. Though the property is obviously compliant with handicap accessibility requirements, you can tell the building is not laid out as a modern hotel. But that's why I like staying there.

The staff is very friendly, the rooms clean, and very importantly the rooms are quiet. The room I had this time has a gas fireplace in it. Nice touch for the December weather. Just beware of the pan handlers around 4th Street. Best advice; ignore them and keep walking.

Room Tip: In the winter months, ask for a room with a fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    193
    57
    25
    8
See reviews for
114
147
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This Residence Inn is unlike any I've stayed; it is more of a full service hotel than the standard "Inn" experience. My room was huge, like an apartment, though the view was not great (a roof with a chair on it.) The staff is exception and parking is easy and free. Excellent access to downtown, 4th street, and so on.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed here for 3 months this summer for work.

PROS:
Fantastic location, with the ball park, concert center right in front. I would watch the friday night fireworks show from my room!
Great restaurants around the corner (4th East street, Lola's, Greenhouse tavern etc etc)
Huge rooms
The friendliest and most helpful staff you have ever come across. I have travelled alot for work, all over the country and world and bar none these guys we're great.

CON:
The rooms are slightly dated and would need a little revamp. I think really the thing that would make a hug difference is getting rid of the carpet and putting a hardwood floor in.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room facing prospect street, then you will not have to walk all the way to th...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank bkmmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went here with some old college pals. The room was HUGE, 2 king beds + a pull out couch was more room than we thought we'd need but it came in handy for the Halloween weekend. We were about as far as you could get from the front desk, which is a bit of a walk and certainly not handicap accessible. Be sure to request accessibility if you need it. On a hugely positive note the kitchen area came in very handy. Location is fantastic, right across from the Q and right around the corner from E 4th and W 6th. For the price/location it's a good deal. Parking isn't free for some reason, so a few negatives there.

Breakfast in the AM was standard fare, eggs/potato/cereal/waffles with the requisite beverages. Negative points here for not having bacon. Seriously, it's 2011 and a man needs his bacon in the morning. I almost gave you a 1 star review because of this. Fix it.

The front desk staff was nice and checked us in pretty quick - kudos to the housekeeping staff. We tore our room up pretty well and when we returned it was all cleaned up & tidy. Many many many thanks to the poor soul who took care of us :) This almost makes up for not having bacon.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for something near an elevator, if you don't you'll likely be a 10 min walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
296 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I've been to this hotel quite a few times. It is in a nice Downtown Cleveland location; mid-way between sporting locations, Theater, Cleveland State University, and all downtown attractions. The hotel check-in this time was exceptional. The staff was so helpful, and friendly. It really made me feel glad to be there. The hotel is large and spread out. People with mobility issues might have problems. The rooms are very large and spacious with nice amenities. The rooms are also aging and in need of a bedding upgrade, but still good. This is a great place for small groups and families traveling together. The breakfast bar this time was less than great. It was ok, but not up to par. Still a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Recently stayed here for a wedding. My wife asked to switch rooms because her room was too loud so they stuck us way in the back of the hotel. The room was large and definitely was quiet, but my biggest complaint also came from this request. If you are in one of the back rooms expect a 15m walk to get out of the hotel since you will have to walk down multiple hallways and take two elevators to get out (be careful what you ask for).

Staff were very friendly and helpful, location was near everything we needed, no complaints there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob3294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here the night before we visited the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland. Parking was right below the hotel. (Only a car will fit through the narrow passage to get to the parking facility.) It's very secure, though, and you can access the hotel directly from the parking garage. The room was huge, with the usual kitchen, etc, which we didn't need/use but was adequately provided. (The refrigerator was noisy, so we unplugged it for overnight.) We were there on Saturday and watched football though the afternoon/evening after having driven a long day to get there....nice TV, etc. Breakfast was terrific...lots to choose from, freshly prepared, and pleasantly presented in a large room. This is close to the Hall of Fame, as well as several sports facilities, so it would be a good place for sports fans to stay on game weekends. A short walk away are the famous 4th street restaurants, etc., so dinner was easy to walk to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenanne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Address: 527 Prospect Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44115-1113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing