We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice room in a great location”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here the night before we visited the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland. Parking was right below the hotel. (Only a car will fit through the narrow passage to get to the parking facility.) It's very secure, though, and you can access the hotel directly from the parking garage. The room was huge, with the usual kitchen, etc, which we didn't need/use but was adequately provided. (The refrigerator was noisy, so we unplugged it for overnight.) We were there on Saturday and watched football though the afternoon/evening after having driven a long day to get there....nice TV, etc. Breakfast was terrific...lots to choose from, freshly prepared, and pleasantly presented in a large room. This is close to the Hall of Fame, as well as several sports facilities, so it would be a good place for sports fans to stay on game weekends. A short walk away are the famous 4th street restaurants, etc., so dinner was easy to walk to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenanne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    208
    60
    27
    8
See reviews for
133
165
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Room - dirty shower curtain, random hairs everywhere, rotten smell.

Hotel general areas - tile that needs to be grouted, uneven floors, strange layout

Parking - Great for a smartcar, horrible for any other type. Whoever designed this lot was on drugs at the time.

Service - nothing special, just typical people that complain about their jobs and have tons of excuses for all the problems.

Location - close to a lot of things, the only positive for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MIbusinesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
916 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a few times. I love the location. It is right by the ball parks. you walk out your hotel and your there. I also love all the places to eat. They are so close. This is a very friendly hotel. I do like it, but its a little old. They need to update it. I will stay here again. The location makes up for the oldness. If you do stay. Make sure you check out all the great locations for eating. Its one block away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle tenn
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Friendly staff who seem to genuinely enjoy their job - everyone we had contact with were smiling and pleasant. Room was great - more like a one bedroom apartment than a hotel room. Clean, comfortable. An easy walk to the Indians' game (our reason for the trip). Breakfast provided offered a nice variety, not just cold cereal and coffee. The 4th Avenue area, just around the corner from the hotel, is a gold mine of restaurants and bars. (We opted for Mexican at Zoccalo's - very good.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mspurple55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

What a wonderful stay! We traveled with another couple to Cleveland from London, Ontario, to do some sight seeing and visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
Upon arrival at the Residence Inn, we learned that the parking lot at the hotel was full; it was no inconvenience, there was plenty of parking directly across the staff. When checking in, a wonderful woman working the front desk - whose name I regret I never got - upgraded our room to a suite at no additional cost due to the 'inconvenience.'
The suites are absolutely beautiful. My husband and I and the other couple each received our own room, bathroom, along with a kitchen, sitting and dining area, and a complimentary breakfast.
There is a recreational room on the main level with a pool table, and wonderful shops and restaurants near by.
The staff were exceptional - this trip has made us want to visit Cleveland again and stay at this hotel!
Thank you, Residence Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The staff at the hotel were very friendly. The one bedroom was like an apartment! The building is over 100 years old, but well maintained. The breakfast area is beautiful and the free continental breakfast was very good. Just around the corner was a street (no cars) packed with numerous places to eat. Enjoyed both of the ones we ate at. There is also a comedy club. My wife and I went on a bus tour which was very enjoyable. The highlight was the Rock and Roll Home of Fame. We spent one day, but at least two days are needed.

It was a very enjoyable 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler2AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This was a WONDERFUL stay!!

The hotel itself is architecturally stunning .. the room height must have been over 15 feet high.

The room was twice the size of most hotel rooms, but the bathroom was much smaller, There was a dressing area with double closet and sink on the outside. The kitchen was complete with dishwasher (although we only used the fridge) and dishes/cutlery. Housekeeping was extremely thorough and everything was quite clean. The breakfast was great (there was even salsa/sour cream/onions for the scrambled eggs) and on Tues/Wed/Thurs evening there is a "managers reception" which eliminates the need for dinner elsewhere.

We walked to the R&R Hall of Fame both days ... about 15-20 minutes.

Walked to Tower Center (indoor mall) ... about 5-7 minutes.

We did Lolly the Trolley ... well worth it. (If you show them your room key BEFORE paying there was a little discount ... we found this out too late!)

We went to Zocallo's for guacamole ... delicious ... 1-2 min. walk.

We picked up pizza at Vincenzio's Pizza and Pasta ... very good ...(not open Sat/Sun ... and weekdays only until @630P) .... -1 min. walk.

The front desk staff was WONDERFUL ... always cheerful and upbeat ... would stay there again, without any hesitations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellotoyou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.3 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Address: 527 Prospect Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44115-1113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing