We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the ambience!!”
Review of Crop Bistro

Crop Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Crop Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,849 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: West 25th Street
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the ambience!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The friendliest person there was the water man who filled up every moment he got... Our waiter was not that friendly and never really checked on us.. I wanted to eat my dessert with a cappuccino but he forgot it and charged me for it.. So I told him and he says "Oh...and a bad word i can't post on tripadvisor... sorry I forgot!!" And walked away! Uhmmmmm okay then!!! Didn't like hearing that language!!! Loved loved the ambience and food was good (a bit salty).. I wish this kind of place had a better service (some do!) so the customers can feel like their money was well spent at the end :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YJPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    97
    40
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Bank on the Experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Crop is set inside a 1930's bank, with a ceiling that soars far overhead and murals above and on the walls. But as stunning as the decor is, it's the food that will bring you back. I live in California, but I've stopped at Crop on my way from the Cleveland airport to my destination an hour away just to dine @ Crop, alone at a table with my Ipad. I've also been there with a private event where more than 100 people were served ... and whether I was solo or part of a group, the service has been excellent.

Can we jump right to dessert? Because that's what brought me back, and I'm in a bit of a funk because I'm not finding the "Pretzel Unlogic" dessert on the menu right now. I hope it's just on vacation and planning to return in the fall ... it's a sort of pie type dessert, with chocolate cream, pretzel crust, malted whipped cream, and pretzel tuile. One of the best desserts I've ever had ... I mean, I came to Cleveland for that dessert!!

The neighborhood near the restaurant is a bit dicey, but there's valet parking. Besides the Pretzel Unlogic, you can, of course, have entrees and drinks and the usual. I like to choose the chef's special, but I've also enjoyed perfectly grilled salmon. A good selection of artisanal beers on draft are available too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The place to be seen in Cleveland”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Cavernous does not begin to describe the size of this restaurant. Memorable does not adequately describe the food. Impeccable is not good enough to describe the service. Yes, it's that good. And yes, you will need reservations.

With everyone in one big dining room (in a beautiful old bank lobby) this is a superb place for people watching. You might see a few professional athletes. You might sit next to a local politician. We've seen chefs from other restaurant sitting on the other side of the room. Try to get a table in the slightly raised area on the North side of the room. From there you can see the bar, the kitchen and every table in the place. AND, everyone can see you. Lots of Cleveland's finest looking couples are here every night.

Try the Balsamic Popcorn as an appetizer. The daily Big Pile of Crop pasta special is always a good value and very inventive. EXCELLENT WINE LIST by the glass.

I would search out any new restaurants that Steve Schimoler wants to open!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcobett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Crop Rocks in Cleveland”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Located in a very cool area of Cleveland and in a beautifully restored building. We enjoyed the ambiance even though it is a huge open restaurant. We did not have any problems with acoustics. We were with a large group and everyone's food was delicious. The entree's our table had included long bone veal chop, filet, walleye, and pasta. Many of us shared a wedge salad and the kitchen was kind enough to split them all in the back and bring everyone out their share. The drinks are prepared nicely, not skimpy.

We really enjoyed Crop and will return

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WinstonOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can you hear me now?”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This restaurant is located in an old bank with a high ceiling perhaps accounting for acoustics that were challenging to carry on a normal conversation. However, the menu had something for everyone and our meals (4) were excellently prepared and tasteful. The service was also excellent. Would have easily given a 5 rating except for the noise level.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pcala47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crop Bistro also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to Crop Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing