We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Night of Sleep EVER in a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Night of Sleep EVER in a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We took a quick weekend trip to Cleveland and stayed here. We took advantage of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame package and saved a bit on two adult tickets. The Hotel was great. We had a very clean and quiet room on the 2nd floor. We stayed in a King room with a hide a bed sofa. We have three kids under that age of 10. The two oldest slept on the couch and the baby slept in a pack and play that we brought. Room was tight, but we made it work. The bed was very comfortable. The room was non smoking and actually smelled great. Nothing I hate more then a non smoking room that stinks like an ash tray. The breakfast was ok. Better then some we have had. A good number of hot items available. Friendly to kids. Parking was valet or self park, but not very evident. Great hotel for the value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFamilyK248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    436
    121
    58
    38
See reviews for
315
349
68
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We both want to compliment the staff of the downtown Hampton Inn in Cleveland. The entire staff, expecially the front desk and all of those who staffed the entrance and lobby were gracious and helpful in every possible way. Our congratulation to this group. Please consider this hotel, both for the fine staff and for the good value, if you plan to attend the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. It is just a short and pleasant walk away!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaRootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Perfect location to park the car and walk to rock and roll hall of fame, progressive stadium, tower city shopping and great restaurants. You cant get a better price and deal for the area. Booked the rock and roll hall of fame package, included a pair of admission tickets, parking, and free light breakfast for US$156.00. Took in a Indians game as well and that was just a 10 minute walk away!!! Free Wi-fi was (so ssllooowww) acutally it was non-exixtent!!! That was the only downfall of this hotel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daphne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit area
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We just got back from Cleveland and what a nice clean city. Was impressed! Close to The Hall Of Fame and everything else. Staff and breakfast great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The Hapton Inn Cleveland Downtown offers a great location, halfway between the Rock Hall of Fame and the baseball stadium, and within walking distance to both. The rooms were on the small side, but were clean and quiet. The breakfast room isn't big enough for the hotel, and when we were there (the Yankees were in town), the both the hotel and the breakfast room was packed and we ended up eating standing up. Be prepared to pay to park. We got a rock hall of fame package that included parking, but upgraded to valet because the dropoff area was crowded with vehicles and I found directions to the parking lot confusing. The whole check-in process was a bit stressful, thanks to downtown traffic and pushy Yankees fans, but once we got that sorted out we had a good stay. Check out their packages -- they have some good values.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpn6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

The Hampton inn seems to relish itself on how spartan it can make your experience staying with them. The rooms are fairly clean, notwithstanding the mold in the bathtub however, it is bare bones everything. The bathroom towels are thin and small. Even the movies on the TV offer no previews, just purchase and hope for the best.
The breakfast had the strangest tasting scrambled eggs I think I have ever had. We ate on disposable plates, cups and tableware. The one highlight was the cookies at the counter in the evening. Next time I stay in Cleveland, I will pay a few dollars more and most likely, get a whole lot more for my stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmerje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown is very well located to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, USS Cod Memorial, Progressive Field and Brown's Stadium. Restaurants are also in close proximity. The rooms are clean and the staff generally helpful with only one exception during our stay. The breakfast area is very busy on the weekend

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ld4ivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing