We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our second visit to Cleveland but first to this hotel. We went with the whole family to see a football game. We had 3 rooms for 2 nights. This hotel was great. Very clean and nice rooms. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was included and very good. Overall a great experience and we would definetly stay here again. The only downside was the elevators, only 2 were working and it was a long weekend so they were constantly packed with people and easily a 5 minute wait, the stairs werent an option as they lead somewhere outside around back the buliding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikol86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
nikol86,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn on your return visit to Cleveland. We appreciate you writing a review and sharing feedback on our great hotel, clean accommodations, and the friendly service you received during your stay. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced with the elevator service. We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay otherwise and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    428
    119
    57
    38
See reviews for
305
339
66
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice close hotel to the football & baseball stadiums. Clean, bed a little lumpy Very friendly front desk staff however not enough of them working during busy times. No Pool or hot tub. Nice area with weekend bar to watch games as well. Free breakfast in the morning, a little to be desired, ran out of just about everything on a busy Sunday morning.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
tsjk,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We appreciate receiving your feedback on both positive and opportunities for improving our guest experience. It's great to know our close proximity to the sporting events perfectly suited your travels, and you found our clean accommodation and friendly service to meet your satisfaction. Please know we've shared your comments with our team so we can do a better job of providing exceptional service. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you visit the area. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent two nights here on a business trip. Very comfortable. 24hr beverages available in the lobby. Breakfast OK, though disposable cutlery and crockery a bit tacky. Free internet, easy to set up. Lifts took very long to get to the 14th floor at times, were quick at other times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
F C,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Cleveland while on a business trip. We're glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay, and we appreciate you sharing feedback from your visit. Your comments provide many opportunities for improving our guest experience. We value your business, and we hope you'll return for another visit in the near future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel was spacious, staff were really helpful and nice. Close to downtown. Great breakfast buffet. Didn't use the fitness room or any room service but the room was neat and clean. A late checkout of 12 noon is standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janiene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Janiene G,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your stay at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found our spacious accommodations, helpful staff, and value added amenities well suited for your travels. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, NC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Hampton Inn Downtown is a nice, centrally located budget hotel. Our room was a little small and dark and the furniture was arranged in an unusual way - the desk and closet was right beside the bed which made it cramped. Everything worked properly so we had no problems. One of the elevators was broken for our entire stay, despite assurances that it was going to be fixed. The free hot breakfast was not cooked, only heated, and so it was vile. The coffee was great, however. The front desk staff was pleasant and attentive. I would recommend this hotel because of its price and location.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side away from the church for more quiet (but you will have no view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
NCSmokey,
We're happy to hear from you and receive feedback from your stay with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We appreciate your recommendations of our hotel to future travelers, and we're glad our central location and attentive service added value to your stay. It's unfortunate to hear about your disappointment with the breakfast service. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our staff to assure we're maintaining the highest safety standards for our food. Thank you once again for writing. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Nice place ... comfortable ... clean ... well located (walkable to R&R Hall of Fame, convention center, restaurants, stadiums, waterfront) ... excellent customer service ... decent breakfast with a lot of selection ... in-room amenities were good. All in all, a great place for the price! Every time we left our room, there was some staff person asking us how our stay was! Nice touch!
The only negative ... DO NOT USE THEIR VALET PARKING!! It's $20 a day. We found a local parking structure for $13 weekdays/$5 weekend days. Much better! Just be careful that the off-site lot allows overnight parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
connieandmark,
We appreciate you selecting Hampton Inn Cleveland for your weekend visit. We’re glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our excellent service, clean accommodations, and great location to meet your expectations. Your feedback is valuable to us so we’re happy to hear from you. Thank you again for writing. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location! The hotel was clean and was in a great location if you were to stay a couple of nights. Close to the R&R hall of fame and plenty of great places to grab a bite. If you decide to have a late one there is a church across the street- while beautiful, the bells do chime so maybe ask for the non-church side. Again, great location for downtown, eating and easy access driving in and out of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
A TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your overnight stay with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We're glad you had a pleasant stay and found our great location to offer many dining and entertainment options. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the Cleveland area. Thanks again.

Best regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing