We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that bad...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Hotel and Suites
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not that bad...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Yeah, it was a little low on amenities, and I felt lucky to make it to the parking lot to the hotel without meeting up with any trouble, but it definitely could have been worse. The public areas (esp. elevators) were kind of dirty, but my room was clean and my bed was so comfortable that I got a great night's sleep. Never saw a single bug. I spent most of the day visiting my husband in the Cleveland Clinic so it was nice to have a place to crash after 15+ hours on their uncomfortable chairs. I rebooked a room there, so I guess it wasn't all that bad. Continental breakfast is pretty spartan (english muffins and an apple were all that appealed to me!) but at least it was free food, which is more than you can say for the Cleveland Clinic.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank cal331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    36
    25
    90
See reviews for
23
40
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

The minute I checked in I wanted to check right out. This is a bug infested hotel! First the lovely spiders decorating the main entrance door, as my husband checked us in I went to the ladies room and was asked for "a few dolars" I gave the lady a 20 bill praying that's all she would take. I tried every bathroom stall until I ran out of options, after covering the toilet with layers of tissue I sit down and notice there is a mob of tiny jumping bugs having a party in the tampon container. I finaly get to my room... I just knew this was going to happen we lift the sheets to bare matress to find our friends that were going to have us for dinner! We asked to have our room changed and we did to find holes in the towels don't use the face rags they're only 60years old have were previously used as dish rags. Bathtub had 2 rings around it obviously never gets cleaned. The part that realy got to me was the food left under the bed I mean u can smell it as soon as u open the door. Decided to check out after 30 minutes when I asked about the iron they told me I would have to come get it and bring my id to keep in exchange for the iron. Realy? Anyways returned my keys, the staff didn't even ask me why we were checking out instead he says "well that was a quick one"

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baker221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

Me and my friend are traveling cross country and this review is LEGIT. The hotel room was fine, just a standard room. Everything else was HORRIBLE. The parking lot was dangerous and I couldn't sleep all night because car alarms were going off and we were offered to "party" by a sketchy character in the parking lot. When we asked the hotel clerk if it was safe, he kept saying "it should be okay" over and over again. Pretty much, if you have the money, stay somewhere safer. Or better yet don't come to Cleveland cuz it sucks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindz117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Went for the weekend to cleveland, booked this room for 2 nights. The lobby appeared nice and clean so I thought it was fine. Got to my room and noticed a dirty floor in the bathroom, I checked the bed to find hair and hair grease all over the sheets! I immediately asked for another room...this one smelled, I asked for another room..this one needed to be vaccumed and the phone was black with dirt, the sheets appeared clean so I accepted the room. Now I have bites all over my back, I checked for bugs but didn't see any...still have the bites..I would recommend spend the extra cash and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glynnism2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

I was anticipating on what my room would be like because i was reading the reviews a few months in advance and concerned on what my stay would be like. I was happy to say that it wasn't as bad as i had anticipated. Fortunately i did not experience the terrible lack of housekeeping or bugs or rude staff. I do agree that this place needs some help, but probably more of a replacement of carpets, mattresses, tile, etc. instead of just a good old scrub down. the staff was always kind and courteous to us. If i had to be in Cleveland and money was an issue then i would do it again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightryder10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Don't even consider this dump! Drove into the parking lot and there was an active drug deal going on.. Went in to get some Chinese food and all they had was a cheesy diner menu.. There were 2 scuzzy looking dudes doing shots at the bar, not a soul in the restaurant.. Drove away as soon as possible!

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BronxJorge25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

I read all the previous reviews and thought since it was so affordable and right downtown cleveland we would give it a shot. Keeping an open mind , the first thing we noticed was there were NO LIGHTBULBS in the entire room. 6 lights all without lightbulbs!! how does housekeeping miss this, and if they dont care about lights then what else are they not caring about....

Well I will tell you.

The plumbing has serious issues, every time you turn on the cold water it shakes the entire sink and a loud creaking emits that can be heard from the elevator (literally).

Hair everywhere. Not mine, or my wifes....

bathtub has the grip tape peeling off and because it is sticky and not entirely peeled off it has alot of dirt stuck to it.

Towels has stains, sheets seemed clean, but because of the other things we found we opted to sleep above the covers. Luckily Cleveland was a pit stop for us and we only stayed the one night.

Swimming pool although advertised was full of algae.

I love deals, but next time I will pay twice as much to stay in a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJrentals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
#24 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#19 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
8.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Cleveland Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Airport
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel and Suites

Property: University Hotel and Suites
Address: 3614 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your University Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Cleveland
University Hotel And Suites Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing