We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Avoid if at all possible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Hotel and Suites
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Detroit
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Avoid if at all possible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Someone else I was traveling with booked this hotel and if it hadn't been for non refundable deposit we'd have left. I will say the beds were the least scary part of the place but that's not saying much. Stained carpet, dilapidated bathroom, dingy everything. They claim there was a continental bkfst but it was nonexistent (not that i would have dared to sample it). We had to change rooms to get a working tv and heard other guests also requesting different rooms due to various things not working. Neighborhood a bit shady also. Either pay for a better hotel in downtown area or stay on outskirts of city but DON'T stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    35
    24
    88
See reviews for
21
39
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Seriously the most disgusting place I have ever walked into. Urine stains, mold and food on the walls are all complementary here. Staff is not surprised and are glad to take you to an equally dirty room. The sheets are not changed regardless of what was done to them. Crumbs on the bed, lights don't work, moldy windows and walls. DO NOT SLEEP HERE. The only excellent reviews on here are from the staff.

Room Tip: run away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Saleh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Level Contributor
322 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a budget hotel. Located in a somewhat marginal neighborhood, but right on Euclid Ave near public transit.
Walkable to downtown (from 36th street hotel to 9th street Progressive Field or Rock Hall for example).
Rooms are acceptable, clean enough, and come with a very basic breakfast (corn flakes, fruit loops, bread, jam, milk, coffee, tea, fruit juice, waffles, and sometimes apples).
Plenty of free off street parking.
Security guard on duty in lobby at night.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first. Not a lot of maintenance done here, so some rooms are in better shape than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed there Saturday to a Sunday so just one night. Hotel wasn't very clean in general, we were on the 4th floor and the entire hallway did reek of weed. Rooms was dated, and quite bland. Bathroom was borderline clean. Sheets smelled clean, but had stains and one bed had some hair in them still. Overall it wasn't good, but we were fine there for one night.

The breakfast was pretty awful. Frozen waffles, toast, cereal, English muffin, and bad coffee were the choices with some nasty juice and water, all located in a pretty dirty side room.

Probably won't ever be staying here again, I'd rather pay a little more, or move a bit farther outside the city.

Room Tip: 4th floor reeked of weed, with a view of a rooftop filled with scrap metal and garbage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

STAY AWAY! This is the dirtiest hotel I have been to in 23 years. We were put in a "room" with dirty sheets, stained pillows, a mysterious black stain on the wall, marijuana ashes and sticky carpet. Went to complain and the staff moved us to a room that was just as dirty if not dirtier. I woke up feeling like I smoked a pack of newports (I don't smoke). The lights did not work and there was yellow reissue in the bathroom sink. Best part of the hotel is that you can check out whenever you want. Please stay away from this hell hole.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jmarzouq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morley, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Most disgusting place I have ever stayed. It took three times to even get a room I could sleep for a couple hours. Dirty carpets, unclean sheets with hair in them, pubic hair behind toilet seat, sunflower seed shells spit on the lobby floor still there in the morning, and marijuana smell coming from bathroom vent!!!!!! Do not book a room here!

Room Tip: Nothing completely disgusting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights April 18th to 20th 2014.
My first thoughts upon arriving was this is not a very attractive place, but upon entering to check in , my first thoughts were this isn't that bad, I was expecting the worst after reading all of the reviews here on Trip Advisor before booking it, but for the price, proximity to public transportation and the downtown core of Cleveland, Ohio it was worth the money we paid for the two days.
They had a clean lobby, friendly and helpful staff at the front counter, our room on the 7th floor was quiet even though the hotel was pretty much fully booked for the Toronto Blue Jays vs Cleveland Indians baseball series in town that weekend.
Our room was in need of some updating, had older carpet, and a tube TV but it served it's purpose for our needs., I took the stairs up and down everyday and that it probably the worst of this hotel, it appears as though people are too lazy to go outside to have a cigarette and some people were smoking in the stairwell, I never seen anyone first hand, but there was cig butts and ashes on a few floors, I think the staff needs to stress the danger of this practice to it's customers, it is a health and safety issue for everyone else staying there.
The free WIFI internet worked great up on the 7th floor, the bathroom was really clean, great water pressure, clean towels & face cloths, soap and shampoo, small refrigerator and clean pillows, sheets & comforters. We had a good nights sleep both nights with no issues.
I would stay here again, it is worth the money when visiting Cleveland, Ohio and wanting to stay within the downtown vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faci81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#20 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
8.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Cleveland Airport North
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
#27 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Cleveland Airport Hotel
Cleveland Airport Hotel
#31 of 38 in Cleveland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
11.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel and Suites

Property: University Hotel and Suites
Address: 3614 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115-2533 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your University Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Cleveland
University Hotel And Suites Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing