We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Centerville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nasty”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here during the month of February while being seen as an outpatient at the Cleveland Clinic. The hotel was recommended by a physician there. I was not excited about staying there but agreed to do so because the price was right, they had 'breakfast', and the hotel provides a free shuttle to the Clinic. Lots of Clinic patients stay here. This was my worst hotel experience EVER. My room was old and very dirty. Bathroom sink leaked. Housekeeping was a joke. I think they changed my sheets two times. In four weeks. They only cleaned the bathtub once, when I asked. The housekeeper looked at me like she was going to hurt me for asking. Over the weeks the mirror in the bathroom became very dirty, asit was not cleaned. My daughter came to visit and pulled out the sleeper sofa. It was full of food, so she slept I the bed with me. The room was over a Subway Sandwich Shop and smelled like it. Fellow Cleveland Clinic patients reported similar problems, including food in the sleeper sofa. Reports to the desk were a waste of time. The people at the desk are nice, but useless. One staffer told me there was a mall a few blocks away. I am disabled. The 'mall' was 15 blocks away and not really a mall, just a few stores, a Hard Rock and a casino that was scarey after dark. Shuttles run most days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with heat in the bedroom. Some rooms are bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    227
    92
    44
    50
See reviews for
192
131
59
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If anyone is having any care provided at Cleveland Clinic hospital, the Comfort Inn can be the next best thing to a home away from home. They provide discounts for clinic patients & family, they provide free parking to clinic patients, & free shuttle service to the clinic. If there is any emergency whenever the shuttle is not running, they will provide transportation to the clinic. The breakfast is hardy, & can provide you with daily snacking also ( no extra charge). The staff seems to realize that you may be under stress, & are reassuring if any problems come up. The place is not fancy, but certainly comfortable, clean, & restful. There are some restaurants within close walking distance, & a bar next door, if you need to unwind after a stressful day at the cleveland clinic hospital. Prices are very reasonable, much more so than the hotel at the clinic.

Room Tip: a suite is available if you need more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you wanted to experiencing living/sleep in a Pizza Hut or Subway kitchen, then you must pick this hotel to stay at. From the moment you open the door of your hotel room, a strange odor hits you and refuses to go away until you leave the hotel. Our family checked into a suite on Thursday (3/27) and had plans of staying till 4/4 but were forced to check out several days earlier to move into a nearby Wyndham Hotel. There was a music concert series happening at Cleveland State University and proximity to the music venue was a big excuse for this motel to charge Marriott like rates. I have not seen too many suites where there is not a wall on the tub side of the bath and instead what you have is a shower curtain. Just too many things wrong to list here...vacation from hell as my son liked to call it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShivaR861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

i travel from wv and have stayed here a total of 3 times so far and ive had a excellent experience each time. check in has always been quick and the staff has always been nice and helpfull. good value especially the fact that the rate includes parking, room, breakfast and shuttle to and from the clinic as well. Im actually going to stay there next month for an appt. i stayed in a king room and a standard room. i liked the standard room better due to there was a fridge there where i could keep my medicine. however it would be nice if there was a fridge in the king rooms as well. the breakfast was good. i highly recommend this hotel for any cleveland clinic patent that needs a place to sleep.

Room Tip: the cleveland clinic rate only applies to a standard room or a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina304747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words about the Comfort INN! We strive to fulfill every guest’s needs while staying in our hotel, offering a comfortable home away from home that you can look forward to at the end of your day. We understand that it takes an extra effort to express your opinion for our hard work, and we look forward to returning the favor on your next stay at our hotel. Your specific comments are genuinely appreciated and will be discussed in our next staff meeting. We’re grateful for your insight and we’re eager to serve you in the future. We hope that all is well for you and your family that had to visit the Cleveland Clinic.

Sincerely,

Max Baire
Asst. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My mother was a patient at st. Vincent hospital and we needed a place close by to stay one night. We were very pleased with customer service, parking, rooms nice and clean and the breakfast was very good! Theres also a pizza place and a subway right next to the hotel so we didnt have to go far at all to eat dinner when we got in at night. Would stay here again if ever in cleveland again. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words about the Comfort INN! We strive to fulfill every guest’s needs while staying in our hotel, offering a comfortable home away from home that you can look forward to at the end of your day. We understand that it takes an extra effort to express your opinion for our hard work, and we look forward to returning the favor on your next stay at our hotel. Your specific comments are genuinely appreciated and will be discussed in our next staff meeting. We’re grateful for your insight and we’re eager to serve you in the future. I hope you mom is doing well and that your next stay with us will be for pleasure.

Sincerely,

Max Baire
Asst. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently had a stay at this Comfort Inn. We had a family member having surgery at the Cleveland Clinic. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The shuttle to and from the clinic was a nice option.

The bed was comfortable, but the sofa and roll away were not so much. The shower looked a little dirty. The room itself was clean. The food was ok and very average.

All in all, it was a pretty decent stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4disneyfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words about the Comfort INN! We strive to fulfill every guest’s needs while staying in our hotel, offering a comfortable home away from home that you can look forward to at the end of your day. We understand that it takes an extra effort to express your opinion for our hard work, and we look forward to returning the favor on your next stay at our hotel. Your specific comments are genuinely appreciated and will be discussed in our next staff meeting. We’re grateful for your insight and we’re eager to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Max Baire
Asst. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband was receiving treatment at the Cleveland Clinic so we stayed together a couple of nights and I had to stay alone several nights. I felt safe which was important to both of us. Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is older but that does not matter to us if it is clean and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The staff was very courteous and helpful. It also helped that there was parking underneath the hotel as we drove back and forth to the hospital. The parking fee was waived because of being treated at the Clinic which really helped. We had stayed at another hotel which was closer to the hospital but we paid $14.00/day to park which is very costly. We will always stay at this hotel for future visits/treatment at Cleveland Clinic.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and it was very quiet. The noise from elevators, etc. usually bothers us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words about the Comfort INN! We strive to fulfill every guest’s needs while staying in our hotel, offering a comfortable home away from home that you can look forward to at the end of your day. We understand that it takes an extra effort to express your opinion for our hard work, and we look forward to returning the favor on your next stay at our hotel. Your specific comments are genuinely appreciated and will be discussed in our next staff meeting. We’re grateful for your insight and we’re eager to serve you in the future. We hope that all is well for you and your family that had to visit the Cleveland Clinic.

Sincerely,

Max Baire
Asst. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.7 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.7 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 1800 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115-2244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#18 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Comfort Inn Cleveland
Cleveland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Downtown Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing