We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$143
View deal
Priceline
$143
View deal
FindHotel
$159
$133
View deal
SAVE $26
Hotels.com$143
Expedia.com$143
Hurb$159
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
791 results
Traveler rating
473
210
57
30
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
473
210
57
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanical gardens art museum university circle severance hall mansion suite boutique hotel within walking distance oatmeal breakfast was included breakfast room visiting cleveland location was perfect parking wedding fireplace cwru concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 791 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2019

If you love classical music and art there are few better destinations in the US than Cleveland's University Circle. Parks and gardens surround Severance Hall, the Cleveland Orchestra's lovely concert hall, the magnificent Cleveland Museum of Art, and lots more. These and more are an easy walk from this hotel, built back from an historic home with its own attractive grounds. I could complaint about minor things--I would prefer the option of feather pillows, and the breakfast pastries could be more delicate--but it's a charming and comfortable spot, the staff are warm, the rooms, though small, are clean and attractive, and the location can't be beat.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Scenic223955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowilliams, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear Scenic223955,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent with us. We are so pleased that you found the location for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Laura Brdar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

We were in the area for a show at the Blossom Music Center and to visit family in Cleveland. The hotel and grounds were lovely and it was a perfect location to visit nearby museums. Wish we had been there on a cooler day so we could have enjoyed the courtyard. Our room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was an added treat in the historic main building.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 790marlenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowilliams, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear 790marienew,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased that you found our location to be perfect for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019 via mobile

Well positioned physically and priced to compete with other hotels, we’d return here for sure. Plan to spend some time exploring the artwork.. a booklet with a guide is available at the lobby desk. The bar is lovely, with indoor and outdoor spaces for everyone. Billy is a gem- he took great care to make us special drinks, tell us about the hotel, and start our evening off quite well. Parking is easy, breakfast had healthy variety, and our room was just right in space and comfort. This would also be a good venue for a small reception, shower, or other celebration event.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MrsPsPicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowilliams, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Dear MrsPsPicks,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it's always great to hear from our guests on how we're doing. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us and your fellow travelers. We can hardly wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

This beautiful historic boutique hotel has great service, hospitality. After driving 6 hours that day, I was quite tired to look for a restaurant to eat. We just wanted quick bite for late lunch. While we were at near lobby, looking for the phone to find place to eat, Bill, who works at the lounge there, suggested that he could have a pizza ready for us while we go to room and refresh. The lounge was not quite open yet that time. We were so pleased.
Room was spacious and beautiful, so as the lounge area. It’s closed to the different museums also. Parking onsite is also nice as this is located inside the university, I was not sure I can find parking easily.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Kazuko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowilliams, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2019

Dear Kazuko A,

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel during your last visit. We try to make everyone's visit memorable by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service and the best of amenities; and it's always great to hear from our guests on how we're doing. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Laura Brdar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

The staff is friendly, helpful and always at hand. One quibble about the room; the fad of extra-tall beds. I mean, do we really need a bed where the top surface of the mattress is 40" off the floor? Anyone under 5'10" is going to practically need a step-ladder to get into bed.

Breakfast is very good, and in good weather, having it out on the patio is wonderful.

Within easy walking distance of more than half a dozen museums, the Glidden House is not just a historic and attractive building.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ProPhotowriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowilliams, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2019

Dear ProPhotowriter,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it's always great to hear from our guests on how we're doing. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Laura Brdar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews