We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveler rating
441
199
51
26
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
199
51
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanical gardens art museum university circle old mansion campus of case western reserve severance hall mansion suite sun room within walking distance boutique hotel cleveland institute of music first floor included breakfast cleveland clinic yogurt nice breakfast breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 735 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2017

We were in Cleveland to hear the Cleveland Orchestra and visit museums. We stayed st Glidden House for two nights and could not be happier with its location and the hotel itself. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to William at the bar who was fabulous! We dined next door at Trentina one evening and William arranged for food to be brought over the evening of the concert as we were running late. Our room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Would recommend highly and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jeanannapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Dear jeanannapolis,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cleveland!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

I requested a corner room on the 3rd floor and my wish was granted. The room had lots of natural light with its three windows. Since it's at the end of the hallway, it was perfectly quiet too. Comfortable bedding and clean modern bathroom with great water pressure! Just what I needed! The staff is always helpful! The breakfast is very good, though the Espresso Machine is not there anymore.

I always look forward to staying here!

The only issue was with the parking lot in the late evening. They need to add more lighting by the back entrance and the spaces closest to The Coffee House.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have an extra window.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Dear J S,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your comments regarding the parking lot lighting as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

I have now stayed here several times, most recently in May, 2017. I love this hotel! The location, on the Case Western Reserve campus, near the botanical gardens, CMA, and MOCA, and an easy walk to lots of fun activities and good restaurants. I almost never see the day staff (panned by other reviewers), but after 3:00 the crew is amazing. The desk, the concierge, the bar staff, are all pleasant, polite and happy to help. I always feel welcome. Even the fixit guys are great. Unlike other local hotels, parking and breakfast are included, and Trentina (the excellent restaurant next door) provides the room service. Breakfast is good, especially the oatmeal. The basic room is, in my opinion, as nice and better laid out than the higher cost rooms, but both are pleasant, clean and except for the lack of a full length mirror, stocked with everything necessary, including good towels. This is my favorite place to stay in Cleveland!

Room Tip: Basic rooms are great, elevator is slow, so 1st floor is better, especially with a lot of luggage.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flam1ngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Dear Flam1ngo,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have chosen to return to the Glidden House during your visits to Cleveland. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. I would have given it a 5 but the lady at the checkin was not very friendly or helpful. For example, we had to ask about parking she didn't ask do you have a car you need a parking pass for?

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Dear Stefanie R,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments regarding the front desk staff as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. I hope that you return to the Glidden House to give us another chance to impress you.

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2017

After reading previous reviews, it seems some of the guests stayed in a different place than we did. The employees that we had contact with were very nice and helpful. The room we stayed in was dark, which makes the room appear cleaner than it is. The room and parts of the home are outdated. When using term outdated, am not referring to original historic parts of the home. The breakfast was terrible, poor quality, cold, ran out of coffee. We really looked forward to staying here , but were disappointed . This could be a premier location if management would pay attention to details.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
4  Thank LAURA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Dear Laura H,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. We hope that you return to the Glidden House to give us a second chance to impress you.

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews